Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for Christmas two years ago, huge hit. Everyone loved it, I added chocolate to the glaze poured over in last step. Delicious!!- Annegeo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My wife and I made this, Very Good! We did use the chocolate cake mix with the "pudding already in", and for the glaze we used half white sugar and half brown sugar. Easy to make and tastes great for being a box mix based recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Otis
Home Town: Mason, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Durbin, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
love it .. the more rum the better. u can cut the glaze in half tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this cake twice now and it gets raves from EVERYONE. Usually, it's gone within the hour. Oh... one change I make is that since I don't drink rum, I just toss in the entire pint into the batter to get rid of it. It doesn't hurt the recipe in the least, it only adds flavor-- which makes it even delicious in my opinion! You'll have a hit at any party with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious but my grandma makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! Very moist, not too rummy, really pretty. I melted some chocolate to glaze it, though it really looked quite pretty as it was. Everyone was quite impressed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
So delicious and easy! I love the fact that this can be made with cake mix. It's so quick to make and tastes much better than any scratch rum cake I have ever made. I served it with fresh whipped cream and all of my guests oohed and ahhed over it...thanks for the great recipe! The only modification that I made was I used only 1/2 cup of sugar for the glaze, I don't like super sweet glazes and that was perfect. I let it soak for about 60 minutes before turning out of pan and that seemed to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen L
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This cake is so moist and easy to make.I followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit of rum extract.It doesn't have a strong rum flavour ,it is just right.I will definately make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
cake was very blah-too much rum-overpowering- cake kind of dry despite the pudding mix and baking it for the minimum amount specified in the recipe-disappointing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I also lessened the rum in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mieshka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States