Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this cake as an alternative to the Bacardi rum cake. Followed the directions and it came out great. I mailed this cake to my sister to comfort her after surgery. It was waylayed by the post office (priority mail wasn't a priority, I guess)and it took over a week to be received. However, it still got rave reviews by sister and family. The rum had mellowed and it was still moist. The rum saved it from becoming a dry ruined cake. The glaze was not grainy at all as stated in a previous review. Delicious recipe, let it set a day before eating for the rum to mellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
This recipe was fabulous! I received many compliments. It was very different, and delicious. Intend to make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This makes a large, beautiful and delicious cake. I highly recommend it. Very moist and high in flavor. I used chopped salted mixed nuts in the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This cake is FANTASTIC! After visiting Grand Cayman on our honeymoon, my husband got hooked on the popular rum cakes they sell there made with local rum. I wanted a recipe that recreated that cake, and this is it! In fact, this cake is even better! My hubby and neighbor raved! Regarding the glaze, it's not supposed to be white, thick, or sugary like icing. It's supposed to soak into the cake to give it that buttery rum flavor. I used gold Tortuga rum and would recommend gold over white because it typically has more flavor. Next time, I will let the glaze soak in longer than 30 min. One side of the cake stuck to the pan, I think because it was still too wet where the glaze ran down the side of the pan. Needs more time to absorb into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I made this for our Christmas last year. My husband and I wanted to start our own tradition. So this will be a part of that every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
This is an awesome cake! I used the SuperMoist chocolate cake mix that has the chocolate morsels in it - this is a very dense, moist cake. And, not too heavy on the rum flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I made this into a traditional "poke" cake - I baked it in a 9x15 pan - and left in there for serving! I also used 1/2 cup pecans and 1/2 cup walnuts to cover the bottom of the pan. I also used macadamia nut oil, instead of regular oil. For the glaze - make sure and use good quality, unsalted butter!! Great taste - thanks!!!!!!!! P.S. - we serve this cake as they would "over here" - by pouring a bit of "pouring cream" (heavy whipping cream, UN-whipped!) over the top of each piece (make sure and warm the piece of cake slightly in the microwave first!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
THIS CAKE WAS A GREAT HIT AT A CHRISTMAS PARTY EVERYONE LOVED IT AND IT WAS SO EASY TO MAKE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
A year ago, at this time, I was looking for something different to make for a friend and I found this recipe. I started with one cake and ended with eight. This year it is my gift to all my dear friends. My "secret ingredient" is actually a silicon bunt pan. ( I now own 3) Once the cake comes out and cools a bit, pour the glaze on and go to bed. In the morning peel the glaze soaked cake easily out of the pan, wrap tightly and refrigerate for a couple of days to "cure". Put it on a pretty plate, and if you have the energy drizzle it with some melted chocolate. I use dark rum in the glaze because my friends are so spirited. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made it as the recioed stated and I would only give it a 4. But it has a lot of potential, so I am giving it a 5. I like a stronger rum flavor in my cake so I am going to add more rum. I used a white rum in the cake and a gold for the glaze. It was really good. Non cake people went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States