Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
A year ago, at this time, I was looking for something different to make for a friend and I found this recipe. I started with one cake and ended with eight. This year it is my gift to all my dear friends. My "secret ingredient" is actually a silicon bunt pan. ( I now own 3) Once the cake comes out and cools a bit, pour the glaze on and go to bed. In the morning peel the glaze soaked cake easily out of the pan, wrap tightly and refrigerate for a couple of days to "cure". Put it on a pretty plate, and if you have the energy drizzle it with some melted chocolate. I use dark rum in the glaze because my friends are so spirited. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
There's no mistaking this for a scratch cake. It's so obviously a boxed mix even with the rum. If you want an authentic fresh tasting rum cake try the Brown Sugar Rum Cake instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
This cake is FANTASTIC! After visiting Grand Cayman on our honeymoon, my husband got hooked on the popular rum cakes they sell there made with local rum. I wanted a recipe that recreated that cake, and this is it! In fact, this cake is even better! My hubby and neighbor raved! Regarding the glaze, it's not supposed to be white, thick, or sugary like icing. It's supposed to soak into the cake to give it that buttery rum flavor. I used gold Tortuga rum and would recommend gold over white because it typically has more flavor. Next time, I will let the glaze soak in longer than 30 min. One side of the cake stuck to the pan, I think because it was still too wet where the glaze ran down the side of the pan. Needs more time to absorb into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Ok licking the spoon and bowl of this cake is twice as fun as a normal cake!!! This cake was amazing!!! Everyone liked it, even my mother... who is critical of everything! I made extra glaze and concentrated it on the outsides of the cake so it would soak to the top. Next time I will take the cake out and pour some glaze in the pan and put the cake back in to glaze the top a bit more. Next time I might add a bit more rum to the cake, not to the glaze... the parts saturated in glaze were fine, the parts that were just cake you couldn't taste the rum quite as much. It was SOOOOOOOO moist! Everyone loved it. My sister almost ate half the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2001
I've made this recipe twice for guests...they love it! It seems the glaze is a little thin, so the second time I made it I reduced the water to half the amount. I've found that dark rum works as well as white rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
This cake is very easy to make, and pretty good. It does need some flavor, and could use some ideas added to the recipe. I do recommend pouring half of the glaze into the pan first, and the other half later. The cake does taste good, and if you have already made a rum cake, and have special ingredients, try this quick and easy version!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
With the addition of a chocolate ganache on the top, this rates five stars. I also made this in a 9X13 inch pan because I have trouble getting cakes out of pans (baked 40 minutes). Before baking I put the nuts and some coconut on top of the cake mix (instead of bottom). After baking, I let it cool then used the chocolate ganache recipe from this website. Oh yeah, I also added some chocolate chips to the cake before baking. The men at work really seemed to enjoy this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
Good, but a bit strongly flavored. The glaze was quite grainy and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I have made this cake twice now and it gets raves from EVERYONE. Usually, it's gone within the hour. Oh... one change I make is that since I don't drink rum, I just toss in the entire pint into the batter to get rid of it. It doesn't hurt the recipe in the least, it only adds flavor-- which makes it even delicious in my opinion! You'll have a hit at any party with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was a hit at Thanksgiving! Very moist, not too rummy, really pretty. I melted some chocolate to glaze it, though it really looked quite pretty as it was. Everyone was quite impressed. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States