Chocolate Rum Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
With the addition of a chocolate ganache on the top, this rates five stars. I also made this in a 9X13 inch pan because I have trouble getting cakes out of pans (baked 40 minutes). Before baking I put the nuts and some coconut on top of the cake mix (instead of bottom). After baking, I let it cool then used the chocolate ganache recipe from this website. Oh yeah, I also added some chocolate chips to the cake before baking. The men at work really seemed to enjoy this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Ok licking the spoon and bowl of this cake is twice as fun as a normal cake!!! This cake was amazing!!! Everyone liked it, even my mother... who is critical of everything! I made extra glaze and concentrated it on the outsides of the cake so it would soak to the top. Next time I will take the cake out and pour some glaze in the pan and put the cake back in to glaze the top a bit more. Next time I might add a bit more rum to the cake, not to the glaze... the parts saturated in glaze were fine, the parts that were just cake you couldn't taste the rum quite as much. It was SOOOOOOOO moist! Everyone loved it. My sister almost ate half the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
I made this a couple of times. Everyone Love it!!! I add chocolate chips for more chocolate flavor. I love rum and chocolate ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Love this recipe! Everyone enjoyed the cake and the glaze... very very yummy! I did not add the nuts (don't like nuts) and added a bit more rum in the cake mix to give it a bit more flavour. I also cut the sugar in the glaze a little bit. Has been added to as a new family fave.! Thanks for submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Not quite as good as the original version. It was still very good though, I made mine with black rum, figured the chocolate could handle the deeper molases flavor. Maybe would have been better with gold rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petroleum, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Spencer, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is hands down my favorite recipe in the world!!!! I am not a desert eater unless I have baked this cake....it is YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This cake is WONDERFUL! Thank you so much for the recipe. I modified just a little...I didn't have chocolate pudding so I used French Vanilla. I don't think it really matters. I greased and floured my bundt pan but used cocoa powder instead of flour. I used 1/2 cp brown sugar and 1/2 cp white and added chocolate chips to the batter after I poured it into the pan. Everything was perfect. I thought that the rum flavor in the sauce might be overpowering for the "non-alcoholic" eaters because it smelled so strong but the taste was superb. People who didn't like rum said that they could hardly taste it and has a second helping. Because I was afraid it would be strong, I cut the cake before saucing and set 1/2 aside. Then I poured the sauce over the rest. It looked great, tasted great and I made 2 in one week because my husband begged me for more. So easy! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph7271

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This cake was so delicious I got a marriage proposal! I'm already married BUT that goes to show how good this cake was :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
The cake was moist and delicious - we loved it! The rum glaze was a little too much for some of our guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made it as the recioed stated and I would only give it a 4. But it has a lot of potential, so I am giving it a 5. I like a stronger rum flavor in my cake so I am going to add more rum. I used a white rum in the cake and a gold for the glaze. It was really good. Non cake people went back for seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States