Chocolate Rum Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
These were very hard to roll, even after an hour in the fridge. The dough was overly soft and not easy to work with. Also ran out of jimmies, I was not thinking about how many I'd need, but maybe the recipe should say "several bottles of chocolate jimmie sprinkles". I rolled the rest in finely chopped walnuts, and that was OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I found that by putting the mixture in the fridge and leaving it overnight - it made it a lot easier to roll........Also when I ran out of Chocolate sprinkles I rolled the remaining dough in Cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
My girlfriend picked these cookies for an exchange we had. My first thought was these will add to a nice variety on my tray. Well..I think I ate them all! These are so aewsome and addictive! Work fast after you chill for an hour and they go great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
not the recipe I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I found these while looking for a gluten-free version of my Xmas favorite rum balls. They are super rich, but not too sweet; much more like fudge than like the traditional Nilla-wafer-based rum ball cookies. After reading LARABER's review, I decided to forgo the jimmies and used General Foods International Suisse Mocha flavored coffee powder to roll them in instead, which worked really well. I think the sugar in it helps compensate for the bitterness of the chocolate. I also had the same experience where the mixture was much too runny to make into balls. I added about half a cup more powdered sugar (maybe even more), which seemed to help. Also, it wasn't cold enough after an hour in the fridge, but three hours was plenty. Finally, I used amaretto for half the batch and rum for the other half. Both tasted awesome. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
These are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Great recipe as I am cutting back on gluten. I used semi sweet choc as I didn't have unsweetened and they turned out great. I added a pinch of chili pepper and substituted pecans for almonds. I used a gourmet chocolate sprinkles that is less sugary and more refined looking and every one thought I bought them at an upscale bake shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ellen Mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I used crushed Chips Ahoy for the topping... Very, Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States