Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I thought these were wonderful and my family loved them! This was my first try at making rum balls and I found them really pretty easy. I noticed another reviewer did not like the bits of cookie in the dough so I used my blender for crushing the cookies. The dough is a little sticky. I used a cookie scoop and kept the dough chilled and didn't have much issue with the stickiness. This recipe does have a strong rum flavor so cut back a bit if you're not a big fan, but that's what I loved about it! The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5 is that I do wish they were more chocolatey. The next time I'll try using chocolate wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were pretty good, but I don't like rum that much. Friends said they were the best rum balls they had tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So easy and taste wonderful! I used a melon baller as suggested and they all came out so perfect. I dipped the melon baller in the powdered sugar after every three or four scoops. Also, after I hand rolled the scoops to perfection I put them in a bag of powdered sugar. Thanks to these great tips they were super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and love it! It is perfect and the balls are easy to roll if put in the fridge for a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a simple and quick recipe to put together. If you keep the ingredients cool, they mixture doesn't stick to your hands when you roll it into balls. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yum. Yum. Yum. These are super easy and delicious. Definitely a holiday tradition from now on! I've made with mixed spirits instead of just rum and I love them both ways. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was the worst thing I have ever made, and this is the only one star bad review I have ever written. I was leary when I saw the vanilla wafers as an ingredient because I don't like using processed foods, but they got such great reviews and I wanted an easy chocolatey-rummy ball for the Christmas party. I like the taste of rum, but these came out tasting like rum flavored dough. Not sure what the problem was because all those positive reviewers can't be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmic Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
So very easy to make and now they are expected at every holiday gathering. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These are INCREDIBLE! This year I realized too late I was out of cocoa, so I used sugar-free chocolate pudding mix powder in the recipe and to roll them in. I think it makes them even richer. I also dipped them in chocolate candy coating, and added a white chocolate swirl on top after they dried. I presented them in the little mini muffin/candy paper cups, and everyone LOVES them! I've had so many recipe requests I just typed it out and forwarded an email to everyone. Thanks so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
These were great. Rolling really gets tiring so be prepared for the work. I almost completely followed the recipe except that I added a little more cocoa. I like the stronger chocolate flavor with rum balls. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States