Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
OMG!! These are the first Rum Balls I've tried that are finally perfect! I followed the recipes exactly, used a food processor and a blender to crush the vanilla wafers and nuts very fine and used Sailor Jerry's spiced rum. TIP: buy enough ingredients for two batches because you'll wish you did in the first place! So good - having a hard time waiting for them to mellow. Oh, use your hands at the end to mix the dough well. It was perfect, didn't need to use powdered sugar to roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This recipe is perfect. I put everything in the food processor; when the dough was ready, I shaped it into 1 inch balls and dropped them into a zip lock bag with confectioner's sugar to coat. So easy! They're good now, I can't imagine what they'll be like when the flavor develops. I'm thinking of rolling some in coconut. I love the rum/coconut combination. Thank you FARMLIFE for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These are delicious! I made them exactly as directed and they turned out perfect. Wouldn't change a thing about the recipe and will for sure make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC77HEP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was my first attempt at rum balls. These are easy, versatile and turned out GREAT! Rolled some in coconut, almonds, pecans, walnuts, cocoa, and even stuffed cherries inside a few. Can't wait to make more and try new combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
OMG! Awesome! Made a few substitutions to what I had on hand. I used 1 box of Nilla vanilla wafers...not enough (2 and 1/2 cups) so I used already prepared graham cracker crumbs for the remainder. Didn't have any walnuts so I used pecans and chopped in food processor until uniform in size-perfect! The mixture seemed dry so I added a dash more of corn syrup and tad bit of water til it looked moist enough for me. Refrigerated for a couple hours and then rolled half in chocolate sprinkles and half in the powdered sugar. I had 30 that made it to the container between me and my husband tee hee. Will be making quite a bit of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Have been using this recipe for a few years now. Would not change a thing. Love the fact that you can actually get drunk from these little devils! Yes, there is that much rum in them. I have made them using extract/flavouring before but I prefer the warm burn from real rum. Going to make them tonight with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Karlstad, Varmlands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
These are awesome! The day after Thanksgiving I get calls from all over requesting these delicious treats! It's fairly easy to do and they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
They tasted to like to much rum.. Maybe if I use a spiced rum it would be better.. Didn't like them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trouble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This is the same recipe I have used for years. I crush the vanilla wafers and nuts together in the food processor for a smoother mix. I have substituted Kahlua, Crown Royal and Brandy for the rum, each with very good end results. I will be sending some to my son who is stationed in So. Korea this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I liked this recipe. My only complaint was that the rum was too strong for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States