Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
These were really good. I used Sailor Jerry's and they came out a bit strong. I will have to try the Captain next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean-Henri Weldon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
excellent rum balls! I prefer graham crackers to vanilla wafers....much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I thought these were wonderful and my family loved them! This was my first try at making rum balls and I found them really pretty easy. I noticed another reviewer did not like the bits of cookie in the dough so I used my blender for crushing the cookies. The dough is a little sticky. I used a cookie scoop and kept the dough chilled and didn't have much issue with the stickiness. This recipe does have a strong rum flavor so cut back a bit if you're not a big fan, but that's what I loved about it! The only reason I didn't give this recipe a 5 is that I do wish they were more chocolatey. The next time I'll try using chocolate wafers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAHENR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were pretty good, but I don't like rum that much. Friends said they were the best rum balls they had tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
So easy and taste wonderful! I used a melon baller as suggested and they all came out so perfect. I dipped the melon baller in the powdered sugar after every three or four scoops. Also, after I hand rolled the scoops to perfection I put them in a bag of powdered sugar. Thanks to these great tips they were super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Bromley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yerington, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I grew up with this recipe and love it! It is perfect and the balls are easy to roll if put in the fridge for a bit. Also, one 11 oz pkg of Nilla wafers is very close to one recipe...we doubled it and used two boxes. No measuring needed going forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This is a simple and quick recipe to put together. If you keep the ingredients cool, they mixture doesn't stick to your hands when you roll it into balls. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yum. Yum. Yum. These are super easy and delicious. Definitely a holiday tradition from now on! I've made with mixed spirits instead of just rum and I love them both ways. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was the worst thing I have ever made, and this is the only one star bad review I have ever written. I was leary when I saw the vanilla wafers as an ingredient because I don't like using processed foods, but they got such great reviews and I wanted an easy chocolatey-rummy ball for the Christmas party. I like the taste of rum, but these came out tasting like rum flavored dough. Not sure what the problem was because all those positive reviewers can't be wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cosmic Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tarboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
So very easy to make and now they are expected at every holiday gathering. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgeon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States