Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Many years ago I made a similar recipe. I can't even remember where I found it. All I could remember was the taste. Tonight, I just made it for Thanksgiving dinner dessert, and honestly I had to give it a try before I stored them. I was so amazed that these are just like that long lost recipe! I am very pleased! If you like the taste of rum, just add less. I however had to add a few teaspoons of water and a tiny bit of extra corn syrup to get it to get sticky enough to make the little balls with my cookie spoon. It made the job easier and faster. My guess is that since I had to reduce the recipe, I might have ended up with a bit more of the dry ingredients. Keeper! EDIT: The first recipe I made this recipe it had less rum as I made half the it to try. The taste of rum turned out more mild than overpowering. It is indeed good. Now, I made this full recipe again. I think somebody mentioned that the recipe had a little too much rum. Well I think that review was correct, so I will add a bit less rum as someone else did. However, I would not give this recipe 1 star. The recipe is good just adjust to your preference in the alcohol content. Smell the dough and nibble a piece until you find it is good enough to your taste. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Wonderful...a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little River, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Unfortunately, I really did not care for these. Reminded me of eating raw cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamskape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Um, wow! These babies are potent. Make sure you give people a warning not to let the kids get near them, but otherwise they make a great addition to a candy box. They make a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Fabulous! Made them exactly as written except used chopped Pecans (all I had). I used a rum called Largo Bay, Barbados Rum (was recommended by saleslady in store). The cookies turned out soft and chocolatey with a very mild rum flavor. I think this must be a mild tasting rum. I used a full 1/2 cup yet neither my husband nor son knew it was a rum ball. I like that as some rum balls taste too strong. The taste of chocolate was more pronounced. Very good, I'm making three more batches to use up the rum. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alicia Anderson
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These are really wonderful! I made them exactly according to the posted recipe and they're so easy and tasty! I should have read the tips about chilling the dough before rolling, but I just made do by washing/drying my hands after rolling out 5-6 balls and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Desoto, Texas, USA
Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This is not your average rum ball to me and anyone who tried them we all felt like they were not what a rum ball is supposed to be! If your looking for a slight truffle type ball this is not it! It was ok but I Wo,t be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Other than personal taste, these were very very easy to make and were a hit with others. I mixed them up without any problem. I did use a melon ball scoop to keep the size consistent. Personally, I liked everything but the rum. I guess I am not a rum fan. My husband and son liked them very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
So I gave it 3 because I changed the recipe around a lot. Instead of rum (because I don't like rum), I used bourbon. And instead of walnuts, I used toasted pecans. I added a 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/8 tsp nutmeg, 1/8 tsp allspice. I also cut down on the amount of sugar in the "rum" balls. I like them just fine-- They certainly are boozy, though. I'll be interested in tasting them in a few days, after the flavors have a chance to meld and the booziness mellows. If not, then I'm sure I'd make these again, but I might put in 1/4 cup of booze rather than 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Added these to my holiday baking list this year. Great rum flavor, nice texture. I added 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips for a little chocolate boost, and 2 extra Tbsp. rum as the mixture was a bit crumbly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States