Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these cookies according to the directions and they came out amazing!! They definitely need 2 days to sit and let the rum mellow. I tried 1 right after making them and the rum was overpowering. The second day they were better and the third day even better! If you do not have 2 days to wait for the rum flavor to mellow out, try using Kahlua instead. The Kahlua adds sweetness and doesn't leave the overpowering rum flavor. For anyone who likes a bit more booze in their food, try a dark rum. I also made a batch using Bacardi Ron 8 Anos. The rum was a little strong for the first 2 days, but on the 3rd day I liked these the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made these last year for Christmas gifts. They also freeze well since I had to mail some. Used extra rum and everybody loved them. Made about 200 of them. So I am going to start making them and freeze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
People normally love cookies I make but these were unsuccessful. I did not care for the vanilla wafer base it was to bland and not sweet. Plenty of rum flavor but the rest of the cookie was a huge let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Guercio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
All I really have to say about this recipe is "OMG!!" These are so good. I am not much of a rum fan but that will change with this recipe! Always looking for new goodies to make for family and friends over the holidays and this is definately gonna become a regular. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Meh. I just don't get the appeal. They came out kind of boring. Pretty much like you'd expect lousy boxed cookies soaked in booze and mixed with nuts to taste. A little flat, the flavor needed something besides sweet to give it some appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Fantastic!!!! Tried them after they were just prepared and sooo good, they will be better tomorrow night i'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I loved it. I forgot to add the corn syrup, but they tasted great anyways! For some reason, my dough wasn't sticky and rolled easily into balls. I am guessing its because I forgot to add the syrup? Also, I ocassionally dipped my hand into some rum (on the side) to keep the dough moist. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These were good, but not "over the moon!" I did use bourbon in place of rum because I love bourbon! I let them sit 3 days to develop and they did! I think they have the perfect amount of alcohol flavor as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Huge hit at holiday parties! Never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States