Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These turned out how they were supposed to, but overall they just weren't as amazing as I thought they would be based on the reviews. My husband liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My family didn't care for these at all - sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These Rum balls were very good. Although i do have to say 1/2 a cup of rum was wayy more than what is needed. I would only use maybe 3/4 of a cup. This is a perfect recipe for the holidays, i made these the night before our christmas staff party and placed them into red foiled cups. Perfect for the desert tray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phox
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
If I don't make these at Christmas I am persona non grata. A huge family favourite! My husband starts hinting at me to start making them in September.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Onoway, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Delicious and easy to make! I put in about 6 drops of almond extract because I like the flavor but not the consistency and they taste AMAZING!!! I'm glad I bought the larger bottle of rum because now I can make more rum balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are fantastic.....I used Bailey's. Will try rum next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Rum balls are strong, people. They're supposed to be very rummy. They are NOT supposed to be a sweet sugary cookie. If you don't like rum or nuts, don't make them. I don't know why people make things with major ingredients they don't like and then complain that they don't like the finished product. I think these are great and I've made them with other types of liquor and nuts. For those who don't know, you're supposed to use Nilla Wafers (or whatever brand you can find) and crush them really fine, like in a food processor. You can use a blender to crush them, but don't dump the whole box in - do a handful at a time. This takes longer, but you need to give the blender blades room to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Delicious! I added a bit more rum becaue I like the strong taste and everyone absolutely loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOYFULCHEER
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are great and simple to make. One batch isn't really enough for a dinner party so I made 2 batches. I added a tsp of almond extract to my 2nd batch. Both the original and the modified versions were VERY well received. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I have been making this recipe for more than thirty years. A number of years ago I changed from vanilla wafers to chocolate graham crackers. This very well suits the Captain Morgan Spiced rum that I use as the liquor. They are very strong the first day, but mellow out as the flavors blend together over a period of time.It's also important to to remember to re- "roll" in the confectionary sugar again, before serving. Once you make these your friends will be asking for them every year at holiday time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States