Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Added these to my holiday baking list this year. Great rum flavor, nice texture. I added 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips for a little chocolate boost, and 2 extra Tbsp. rum as the mixture was a bit crumbly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
These are now a must every year for Christmas. All our family expects them and looks forward to them. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made these cookies according to the directions and they came out amazing!! They definitely need 2 days to sit and let the rum mellow. I tried 1 right after making them and the rum was overpowering. The second day they were better and the third day even better! If you do not have 2 days to wait for the rum flavor to mellow out, try using Kahlua instead. The Kahlua adds sweetness and doesn't leave the overpowering rum flavor. For anyone who likes a bit more booze in their food, try a dark rum. I also made a batch using Bacardi Ron 8 Anos. The rum was a little strong for the first 2 days, but on the 3rd day I liked these the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made these last year for Christmas gifts. They also freeze well since I had to mail some. Used extra rum and everybody loved them. Made about 200 of them. So I am going to start making them and freeze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
People normally love cookies I make but these were unsuccessful. I did not care for the vanilla wafer base it was to bland and not sweet. Plenty of rum flavor but the rest of the cookie was a huge let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Guercio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lenox, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
All I really have to say about this recipe is "OMG!!" These are so good. I am not much of a rum fan but that will change with this recipe! Always looking for new goodies to make for family and friends over the holidays and this is definately gonna become a regular. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Meh. I just don't get the appeal. They came out kind of boring. Pretty much like you'd expect lousy boxed cookies soaked in booze and mixed with nuts to taste. A little flat, the flavor needed something besides sweet to give it some appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Fantastic!!!! Tried them after they were just prepared and sooo good, they will be better tomorrow night i'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I loved it. I forgot to add the corn syrup, but they tasted great anyways! For some reason, my dough wasn't sticky and rolled easily into balls. I am guessing its because I forgot to add the syrup? Also, I ocassionally dipped my hand into some rum (on the side) to keep the dough moist. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States