Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
WOW! These pack quite a PUNCH!! They were really good. I am not giving them 5 stars for the simple fact that out of the 5 kinds of cookies I made for Christmas - these were the last to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe is just not good. The rum overpowers every flavor....it tastes like a shot of chewy liquor. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anf1336

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
My personal feeling on this recipe is that it is just not good. The rum overpowers every flavor....it tastes like a shot of chewy liquor. If that is what floats your boat this is the recipe for you. I did not care for it....bummer:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
This was so easy and everyone has loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Neal Green

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
OOOHHHHH These are GOOD!!! sooo goood! :-) I'll be making these for a long time...Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Fantastic! I usually make my mom's chocolate ball recipe at Christmas time, but this year, decided to try these instead (basically the same recipe, but my mom's has half-and-half instead of rum). I brought some to my husband's Christmas party and a family event and these just vanished! I didn't even get to try one before they were gone! Everyone RAVED about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenderbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made it four different ways for a big cocktail party I had. These were the tips I found the most helpful. (1) Use a food processor to crush everything. Very easy. (2) Chill the mixture for 0.5-1.0 hour to make it easier to form the balls. (3) Use a melon baller as suggested to form the balls. They come out much more uniform and it's REALLY easy. (4) Although I followed the original recipe, my favorite variations were (a) to use Oreos and Captain Morgan's Spiced Rum instead (my guests also agreed this was the best); and (b) I used vanilla wafers and a vanilla cognac made by the House of Grand Marnier. The cognac is called Navan, and it's incredibly smooth going down when you drink it. My wife, who generally hates hard alcohol will even drink this liquor on the rocks. Granted, it's not really much of a chocolate taste, but it's truly great, and a wonderful variation. (5) Stow the treats in a sealed contained for 4-7 days, and, before serving, put confectioners sugar in either a ziploc or a tupperware container. Merely roll the balls in the container, and place them on the dish ready to serve. This coats the balls very easily and effectively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good!! Followed recipe exactly. The tip to dust hands with confectionary sugar when rolling was right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I needed to pull together a quick Christmas gift for a lunch meeting and this was perfect. I rolled some in powder sugar/cocoa mix and some in finely ground nuts. I used spiced rum as suggested by others. Easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Too much rum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States