Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I liked this recipe. My only complaint was that the rum was too strong for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Pretty good! And easy! Used them for a cookie exchange, and got good reviews! I ended up making them smaller than called for, so I had a TON of them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these and my husband gave some to his boss. He loved them! I didn't think I would like them but they are great! Followed recipe exactly as is. I will be making these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moyers, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I gave it a four because the rum got a little strong, but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I used Frangelico and pecans. I thought the mixture was a little dry, so I basted them with little more Frangelico/Karo syrup mixture. They got more moist as they sat in the container, but they were still missing something. More sugar? More booze? I don't know. Maybe some of the Nilla wafers could be substituted for something else, but I don't know what. These were still pretty good, and the Frangelico didn't make them boozey at all (maybe that was the problem...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
verrrrry good and easy to make...love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRIYES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These tasted just like I remembered. Don't forget to let them "marinate" in a closed container or ziploc and dust again with powdered sugar before serving. If you use the ziploc bag method of "rolling" them in powdered sugar, you only have to use one ziploc for everything - initial powdered sugar coating, "marinating", then the final powdered sugar coating before serving. A real time and dish-saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Excellent recipe! Didn't have walnuts, so I used almonds...still delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! I used pecans instead of walnuts because I prefer the taste. Like another reviewer said, you can really use whatever alcohol/nuts you like - I did half the mix with Kahlua, and half with Malibu and they were both amazing! My advice would be to start with the dry mixture, add the corn syrup & alcohol, and then add more until it's wet enough to hold together & you like the flavour. It's not a fussy recipe at all! I chilled mine to make it easier to form the balls - they were too wet at room temp. Decadent! Thanks so much - this was a great last-minute recipe for when I had no cream and couldn't use the oven due to the turkey & roast potatoes taking up all the space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
VERY delicious!!! Highly approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States