Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I made these and my husband gave some to his boss. He loved them! I didn't think I would like them but they are great! Followed recipe exactly as is. I will be making these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moyers, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I gave it a four because the rum got a little strong, but they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I used Frangelico and pecans. I thought the mixture was a little dry, so I basted them with little more Frangelico/Karo syrup mixture. They got more moist as they sat in the container, but they were still missing something. More sugar? More booze? I don't know. Maybe some of the Nilla wafers could be substituted for something else, but I don't know what. These were still pretty good, and the Frangelico didn't make them boozey at all (maybe that was the problem...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
verrrrry good and easy to make...love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRIYES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
These tasted just like I remembered. Don't forget to let them "marinate" in a closed container or ziploc and dust again with powdered sugar before serving. If you use the ziploc bag method of "rolling" them in powdered sugar, you only have to use one ziploc for everything - initial powdered sugar coating, "marinating", then the final powdered sugar coating before serving. A real time and dish-saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Excellent recipe! Didn't have walnuts, so I used almonds...still delicious. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious! I used pecans instead of walnuts because I prefer the taste. Like another reviewer said, you can really use whatever alcohol/nuts you like - I did half the mix with Kahlua, and half with Malibu and they were both amazing! My advice would be to start with the dry mixture, add the corn syrup & alcohol, and then add more until it's wet enough to hold together & you like the flavour. It's not a fussy recipe at all! I chilled mine to make it easier to form the balls - they were too wet at room temp. Decadent! Thanks so much - this was a great last-minute recipe for when I had no cream and couldn't use the oven due to the turkey & roast potatoes taking up all the space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
VERY delicious!!! Highly approve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
This is the easiest rum ball dough to handle. I used a melon baller for ease, and little rolling with my hands was necessary. I did slightly increase the rum (a little under 3/4 cup) and they were a tremendous hit. Make sure to use a quality rum (I used Myer's Dark) to really accentuate the rum's flavor. Excellent with after dinner coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Benjamin Powell
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
OK, I was honestly apprehensive when I came across this recipe. I was expecting some sort of truffle like creation by the name, and when I read about the Vanilla Wafers, I was put off. I could not have been more wrong. It was easy to make, and after letting them sit, they were an absolute joy! If I were to change anything, it would be adding more rum, because it was just more of a background note in the balls we made. Other than that, these will definitely be a staple in my recipes box! 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Benjamin Powell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States