Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made these as Christmas gifts and while other people enjoyed them, I didn't...maybe they were just being nice? These are a more traditional style of rum balls with a good rum taste - not too weak and not too strong for my taste. However, I was hoping for a more chocolatey/fudgy rum ball which these are NOT. I really didn't think they had a very strong chocolate taste at all. Based on previous reviews, I rolled half in confectioners sugar and half in cocoa - the cocoa was a big mistake, very bitter! If you want a more chocolatey taste I would roll them in truffle chocolate instead of cocoa. But I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Well, my folks loved these as well as my friend that I gave some to. Yes, you have to love rum, especial after a few days or so, since the flavor does get stronger. I used a Raspberry flavored rum. I also used someone else's ideas about coating my hands with some powder sugar so the balls wouldn't stick to my hands, and putting the powered sugar in a ziplock bag and placing the rum balls in that to coated them, made it really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This recipe was my first attempt at chocolate rum balls and they were WAY too strong. Will either try again and use less rum, or try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
These were good for my first attempt at rum balls. I used pecans because I had a ton of them in the freezer, and that worked fine. The rum taste was a little strong even after sitting in the fridge for a week, but people liked them, so I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
My husband thinks these are out of this world, lol! I made them exactly as written, never made rum balls before and my husband has claimed the whole batch. They are strong, I've only had a couple and though they are not my favorite holiday treat, they are #1 for my husband. 5 stars indeed! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I tweaked the recipe a bit by adding a 10-12 oz. jar of maraschino cherries and 1/2 TBSP of pure almond extract. I also used sugar cookies instead of vanilla wafers and the results seemed to work just as well. You could probably use any type of cookie. ex. shortbread, windmill, almonette, coconut, butter tarts, ect. The almond extract enhances the flavor of the cherries, and the cherries make the rum balls taste more like fruitcake, which in this case, is a good thing especially around the holidays. I give this recipe 5 stars after the inclusion of the cherries and almond extract because they complement and enhance them so well. Some people might prefer vanilla or anise extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
not sure why i'm not loving these, considering the amazing ratings they get. i'm guessing it's because i had to sub graham crumbs for the wafer crumbs. same texture but maybe different flavour? these are not at all what i remember from childhood - found them to be very dry and the rum was quite potent. i love rum but still found there to be quite an afterbite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe was a bit interesting. We have a international ethnic fair that comes every year and I was comparing this recipe to the ladies who make rum balls and sell them at the folk fair. I followed the advice of others and used spiced rum. I am not a drinker so I would not know that spiced rum is spicy. It made the rum balls kind of hot. I am thinking one of the spices must be pepper?hmmmm...I thought the second day, the balls would start soaking up the flavors and still be juicy. They started getting kind of dry. After doing some internet reading, it is recommended to store them in the refrigerator in a airtight container and bring them to room temperature before serving. I thought these balls would have a consistancy of truffles. They did not. I made these to put on a gift cookie plate. I am going to search for another recipe. I may try this one one more time but use shortbread cookies or graham cracker crumbs and use Bacardi instead of the spicy stuff. I also read the dough should be sticky which tell me this recipe needs more rum (liquid)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I have not been able to bring anything else to a party since I started making these! SO delicious, easy to make, and cute too :) I did try the Kahlua variation for people who don't like rum and they were also a hit. Thanks so much for a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myjazzystarr

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Amazing with many compliments! 1/2 c rum was the max I'd use (they had some real kick!). They'd taste great with a little less too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States