Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I love these. The only rum I had around was Sailor Jerry's 92 proof spiced rum. The bite was a little bit much, so I tossed in a few tablespoons of shredded, sweetened, coconunt. Perfection!! The coconut fibers left in your mouth deliciously mellow the boozy taste that lingers after the rest of the rum ball is gone. Can't believe I've never made these before...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Good, although they do look like sand when you mix them they turned out great!. something I did to help role them into the balls was wet my hands, sounds odd but it helped lessen them sticking to your hands! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samyehsilver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These were pretty tasty, even though i substituted cheap vanilla extract for the rum (i'm not a fan of alcohol). Freezing these for an hour or two definately firmed them up, making it easier to roll. I used a small cookie scoop and dropped them straight into the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Sent these to my husband when he was deployed and him and his friends LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
They were a hit at my wife's office! I had to bump the liquid up a bit due to how dry the dough was - it wouldn't roll it into a ball easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mosley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were so good. I made these for Christmas, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These turned out just as they were supposed to I think but they were so bitter that no one would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
did not like texture; walnuts with wafer pieces was too much for me I guess. Also not very sweet or chocolatey, and a little too rummy. Guess I will look for an all around smoother recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These rum balls are amazing! One thing I did different was that I used vanilla creme wafers. The creme makes them a little more sweet and hides the rum taste a bit. Also makes it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Somehow, I got so busy making these that I never got around to rating them. Like many other reviewers, I've tried other liquor and nut combinations and they always come out wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Chocolate Protein Balls

A great on-the-go breakfast or snack time pick-me-up!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States