Chocolate Rum Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Good, although they do look like sand when you mix them they turned out great!. something I did to help role them into the balls was wet my hands, sounds odd but it helped lessen them sticking to your hands! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samyehsilver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These were pretty tasty, even though i substituted cheap vanilla extract for the rum (i'm not a fan of alcohol). Freezing these for an hour or two definately firmed them up, making it easier to roll. I used a small cookie scoop and dropped them straight into the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Sent these to my husband when he was deployed and him and his friends LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
They were a hit at my wife's office! I had to bump the liquid up a bit due to how dry the dough was - it wouldn't roll it into a ball easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Mosley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were so good. I made these for Christmas, everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
These turned out just as they were supposed to I think but they were so bitter that no one would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
did not like texture; walnuts with wafer pieces was too much for me I guess. Also not very sweet or chocolatey, and a little too rummy. Guess I will look for an all around smoother recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
These rum balls are amazing! One thing I did different was that I used vanilla creme wafers. The creme makes them a little more sweet and hides the rum taste a bit. Also makes it hold together better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Somehow, I got so busy making these that I never got around to rating them. Like many other reviewers, I've tried other liquor and nut combinations and they always come out wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made these as Christmas gifts and while other people enjoyed them, I didn't...maybe they were just being nice? These are a more traditional style of rum balls with a good rum taste - not too weak and not too strong for my taste. However, I was hoping for a more chocolatey/fudgy rum ball which these are NOT. I really didn't think they had a very strong chocolate taste at all. Based on previous reviews, I rolled half in confectioners sugar and half in cocoa - the cocoa was a big mistake, very bitter! If you want a more chocolatey taste I would roll them in truffle chocolate instead of cocoa. But I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States