Chocolate Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
So very disappointed in this cake. I know the "roll-up cake;" I make an AMAZING pumpkin roll and vanilla roll (if I do say so myself!) and I've been looking for a chocolate version. I NEVER have problems with my pumpkin and vanilla roll cakes coming off the parchment paper and rolling into the towel but this chocolate cake was terrible. It stuck to the parchment paper and then stuck to the towel even worse. Huge mess. I don't know what I could have done differently. I will NEVER make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
If you cut the baking time down by 5 min, you won't have an issue with the cake crumbling. To prevent the cake from sticking to the towel, you need A LOT of powdered sugar. Uses a flour sack towel or pillowcase instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have a chocolate roll recipe that I inherited from a Great Aunt and has been in our family for several generations. It has been my all time favorite dessert treat. I have never made it personally but am getting ready to try. The recipe is rather lengthy but will try to post.Fingers are crossed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renfrow Fred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Cooking-jee
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was amazing! The cake some out dry when u take it out of the oven but with the filling and I left it in the fridge over nite and amazing ! I tell u! Soft and pluffy. The only changes I did is adding 4 spoon of coco and I put the icing sugar on the cake and then flipped it on a pillow case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I was skeptical to try this recipe because of mediocre reviews, but I'm glad I did. I used 4 eggs because that's all I had. I didn't experience the cracking other reviewers did. I oil-sprayed the pan, lined it with wax paper, then sprayed the paper. When I took the cake out, I sifted powdered sugar on the cake, topped it with a clean towel backed with a plastic cutting board (for support), and flipped the cake onto the towel. (The paper stayed in the pan!) I took it to Bible study last night and everyone loved it. I set it out half an hour before serving to soften the chocolate a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but when I tried to roll it, it stuck to the towel and cracked when I put the whipped creme in it. All I ended up with was a big mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe left ALOT to desire... very time-consuming, many steps, and the result...? The cocoa mixture did not blend well with the egg white mixture, leaving the final batter grainy. After baking, when rolled up in the icing sugar-dusted towel, the cake was so thin it just ripped all apart when trying to unroll. This was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Ackles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I followed this recipe EXACTLY and it did not cook properly, it tasted terrible. I tried to salvage it and rolled it up waiting for it to cool, but it was a not worth the effort. I suggest trying another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
had a hard time seperating the cake from the paper and I followed the suggestions. I would not recommend this or even try it again. The cake was dry. Not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States