Chocolate Roll I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
This was great & QUICK!! You will need to undercook by 5 minutes so it will roll easier. I substituted a Godiva chocolate recipe for the filling. And a raspberry liquor sauce to swirl on the plate. Updated 4/8/12 - Variation that came out awesome! Substitute almond extract for vanilla and add 1/8 cup powdered sugar to whipped cream. Put in refrigerator and let set while cake cools. Roast walnuts for 10 minutes on 350 (or put in oven with cake roll). Remove and let cool 5 minutes. Put in food processor and grind up. Sprinkle on top of meringue layer before rolling. Serve with raspberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
If you cut the baking time down by 5 min, you won't have an issue with the cake crumbling. To prevent the cake from sticking to the towel, you need A LOT of powdered sugar. Uses a flour sack towel or pillowcase instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have a chocolate roll recipe that I inherited from a Great Aunt and has been in our family for several generations. It has been my all time favorite dessert treat. I have never made it personally but am getting ready to try. The recipe is rather lengthy but will try to post.Fingers are crossed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renfrow Fred

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Cooking-jee
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was amazing! The cake some out dry when u take it out of the oven but with the filling and I left it in the fridge over nite and amazing ! I tell u! Soft and pluffy. The only changes I did is adding 4 spoon of coco and I put the icing sugar on the cake and then flipped it on a pillow case
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elinor3
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I was skeptical to try this recipe because of mediocre reviews, but I'm glad I did. I used 4 eggs because that's all I had. I didn't experience the cracking other reviewers did. I oil-sprayed the pan, lined it with wax paper, then sprayed the paper. When I took the cake out, I sifted powdered sugar on the cake, topped it with a clean towel backed with a plastic cutting board (for support), and flipped the cake onto the towel. (The paper stayed in the pan!) I took it to Bible study last night and everyone loved it. I set it out half an hour before serving to soften the chocolate a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
Skip the flouring on the parchment paper. Just spray the pan first, then put the parchment paper on top, then spray the parchment paper. Other reviewer is correct - undercook at least 5 minutes less!! I then flipped it over on a pillow case with powdered sugar sprinkled on the pillow case (do this slowly so sugar doesn't fly everywhere). Roll it up in the pillow case - let it cool and then unroll and fill. For the filling I used 1 stick of cream cheese, 1 cup powdered sugar, 2 tablespoons of soft butter & 1 teaspoon of vanilla. Roll it up and put in tin foil and chill for at least one-hour. Put on a plate and sprinkle it with powdered suger and serve. I serve mine with whipped cream on top of each slice and then sprinkle a little cinnamon sugare on top. YUMMIE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
I couldnt get cake to separate from paper, I let cool 5 minutes before putting it on the towel and trying to remove paper. Paper stuck completely to bottom of cake and tore when I tried to pick off. I greased and floured paper well so dont know what went wrong. Dog liked it, he doesnt mind paper peices. Maybe I did something wrong though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
Cake was not as flavorful as we would have liked. It was also a little dry and cracked when rolled. I added 1/4 cup sugar to whipping cream to sweeten and added melted chocolate over the top to add more flavor. Was an "okay" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but when I tried to roll it, it stuck to the towel and cracked when I put the whipped creme in it. All I ended up with was a big mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States