Chocolate Rocky Road Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
These cookies taste great and are very easy to throw together. The only down side is that the marshmellows melt away in the oven. Try placing the marshmellows on top immediately after the cookies come out of the oven. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Delecatably orgasmic! This was an amazing recipe base. Made a few changes: Melted 1c. Double choc chips W/butter Used Almonds instead, Used 1/2c. Brown Sugar + 1/2c white. Rolled 2 mini mellows inside, making a ball. Then topped it with one. These cookies came out awesome!They are like Rocky Road truffles when made this way. (Baked 7 min.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
These are pretty yummy cookies. I used the recommended 1/2 cup white and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I also added about a half a package of instant chocolate pudding to ensure that they would be nice and chewy. I rolled the dough into balls around a mini marshmallow and baked them that way. When they came out of the oven I immediately topped them with a marshmallow, which melted nicely. Didn't really remind me of Rocky Road anything, not sure what it is missing, but still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I have made this multiple times and they have always been great, but difficult to assembe (the dough is very stick making it difficult to put the marshmellows inside. If found that if I add the melted chocolate when it is still hot the dough does not get as sticky, they turn out just as well, the prep time is cut in half. I also added about a cup of chocolate chips to this and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe!! I changed 2 things: 1) I used 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar in place of all white and 2) I stirred the marshmallows into the batter. I spread mine in a BAR pan and baked for about 15 minutes. The marshmallows "toasted" just like roasting them on a campfire. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I think this is the lost recipe I've been looking for...my girlfriend in high school introduced it to me and her family put one marshmallow on top to cook 5-7 min, and then placed another on top of that and baked it again for 1-2 min to melt. I loved the melted marshmallow part and would always add 2 to make the total 3. It looks like my cookies were a bit thinner than the picture and always tender/chewy and moist! Thank you for posting your recipe...ahhh, the memories! I can't wait to try them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
These cookies are nice, but we probably won't be running to make them again. Like another reviewer, we sort of felt something was missing. They look pretty with the browned marshmallow tops, but in the end they're not out of this world special. The only thing I did differently was cut the sugar by HALF, like another reviewer. They were still extremely sweet, so I really recommend cutting the sugar down by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
great cookie. for some reason my husband thinks they should be more "chocolatey"? so easy to make. ill definitely make them again and i put 3 marshmallows on each cookie immediately after they came out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
very moist, not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Mine were a little dry, and easily fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States