Chocolate Rhapsody Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
My friends beg for this as their birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plumpy Nana Chow Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weed, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
This tasted delicious. The raspberry part scared me, I thought it would be alot harder than it turned out to be. I didnt do the cake part right so it didnt rise, but thats because I missed a step. I would have given this recipe full points for taste, but when we took the springform part off of the cake, the raspberry mousse part started spilling out the sides, it was a huge mess. We kept trying to rebuild the mousse layer, but it never got solid enough to support itself. This recipe tastes fantastic, but watch out, its messy! Also, the mousse part is filled with seeds, and in similar recipes I was directed to strain them out. This is very easy to do if you use a strainer and a bowl or round spoon that can fit inside of the strainer to squeeze the syrup out. I probably wouldnt make this recipe again because of the mess, and it was also a tad bit too rich for me, but I wouldnt mind eating it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
The taste of this cake is very very rich. I have had rave responses to this cake. However it is not a cake I would make very often as it takes a very long time to assemble. Have found that it doesn't always set just right in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Yummy. I made this for my mother's birthday. It was soooo good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This desert seemed harder than what it was. Although time consuming to prepare, putting it together was not so difficult. However, it did not set as well as we had hoped after being in the refrigerator over night. It was too soft and was messy to cut. In the future I will try adding a packet of unflavored gelatin to the raspberry mixture to allow it to firm better. I might also try putting it in the freezer for an extended period of time instead of in the refrigerator. All in all, the flavor was wonderful and well worth the effort. It was a huge hit at a dinner party and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Let me tell you - this cake is awesome. Cake isn't really the word though - it's more of a delicacy. I made it with the chocolate base and everything. I did make twice as much of the chocolate syrup/coating - I hate having to spread a thick mixture. My girlfriend and I made it together - she didn't want to wait for it to chill. Definately - make this, but do it at least a day ahead of time. It's very possibly, the most delicious creation that has ever come from her oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great flavour, easy to put together, but time consuming to get it all ready... Well worth the effort - great with strawberries or blackberries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
This cake was pretty straight-forward to make until the last step. Spreading the remaining ganache over the raspberry mouse was impossible. I ended up with a real mess. The raspberry mouse was too thin to try to spread that thick ganache over. If I make this again, I will make some modications: (1) I will do just 3 layers--cake, then all the ganache, then raspberry mousse, (2) I will use only half as much ganache to make it less rich, and (3) I will use only half as much raspberry mousse. This cake tastes wonderful, although I would categorize it as more of a dessert than a cake. I made it for work and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2000
I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and the family went completely nuts over it! It was absolutely wonderful. Just one thing - in the recipe, there's no chocolate ingredient for the "chocolate cake base", so I just added about 2 heaping tablespoons of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is a really good cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States