Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
If you're making this, make sure it's for a lot of people... It's really sweet and I can only eat a bit at a time (and I've got a sweet tooth). The condensed milk will really satisfy any sweet cravings you're having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Will never need to buy oat fudge bars from a coffee shop again! A couple tips: like others, I also cut the flour to 2 cups. I used ALL whole wheat flour, no all-purpose. It adds a great wholesome taste. I cut the sugar in half, using only 1 cup of packed brown sugar and it was still sweet enough due to the filling. Also used less vanilla extract, can't tell the difference anyway. I used 60% cocoa Ghiradelli chips and melted the chocolate over low heat. really enjoyed the bars, great texture, nice and chewy, homemade taste. These are bake sale worthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
These bars are rich and fudgy, but I found them a little bland. I took reviewers' advice and added 1/4 cup (soy) milk to the oats, which worked well. I didn't have sweetened condensed milk so I subbed with a can of coconut cream and 1/2 cup sugar, which got me a similar taste/consistency. The kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a perfect dessert to bring to a bbq or party. It's rich and delicious, but unhealthy enough that you're better off sharing it with others. I love the chewy, gooey, chocolatey filling. This is an easy way to get people to ask, "Who brought this dessert?" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
They turned out super crunchy on edges - next time will cook for shorter time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Loved these, but they never seem to be the most popular sweet at a pot luck because they are sooooo rich. Even my 2 year old couldn't finish his brownie sized square.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HanakoLei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I made this exactly as written but used a jelly roll pan. They were OK but I would definitely omit the nuts. Their flavor overpowers and you lose the chocolate taste. I've had much better and will keep looking for a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
These were OK. A little too rich for my taste, but not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I've made this recipe a dozen times. Never failed to impress everybody. I actually sold this once in my class' bake sale. It was gone in like 30 minutes! Fantastic recipe! Definitely a keeper ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Very delicious! They were a huge hit at a family BBQ! I used 3/4 of the can of sweetened condensed milk for about 1 cup of chocolate chips and the other 1/4 of the can for about 15 cubes of caramel. People seemed to get really excited when I told them the bars had chocolate AND caramel in them! :) Also, I would recommend using a larger pan, the bars were a bit too thick in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States