Chocolate Revel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I have made this many times since my family and colleagues like it. My primary complaint is that the fudginess of my revel bars was hit or miss, probably because the chocolate layer is very sensitive to cooking time. If I underbake to make it fudgy, it becomes difficult to cut into bars because the chocolate becomes very sticky, and it also results to an uneven top with cracks on it, i.e., not pretty. The best procedure I've tried so far is this: (1) reduce flour to 2 cups; (2) I've always used wider pans as suggested by many reviewers -- 14x10 for one recipe, 9x9 for half recipe; (3) refrigerate the oatmeal mixture for a couple of hours before baking as you would a cookie, with the bottom layer already in place. Then I crumble the remaining lump of oatmeal mixture and sprinkle on top of the chocolate layer; (3) use the least heat possible to melt the chocolate chips. It's better that small bits of chocolate remain rather than overcooking it; and lastly, (4) let the chocolate mixture cool quite a bit. I make the fudge right after putting the oatmeal mixture in the refrigerator, and assemble right before putting in the oven. Following these procedures have resulted to chewy revel bars but easy to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
These were a great change from the standard bar cookie. I have made them twice, but the second time I used a bar pan (I think it is 15 x 2). I poured the entire oatmeal mixture on the bottom and then topped it with all of the chocolate mixture. I think they were much prettier and easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
My mom made these from her recipe from the 1970's for Christmas this year. What a hit! She made hers in a jelly roll pan which makes a big difference. Once they're cut, keep them in a cookie tin separated by wax paper to keep them fresh as plastic containers sometime don't "agree" with chocolate/fudge type cookies. If your batch is DRY - YOU'VE OVERCOOKED THEM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I've made these 3 times and it's a FAMILY FAVORITE! The first time I started making, but to my dismay I didn't have any chocolate chips on hand. I substituted 9 T unsweetened cocoa, 9 T sugar and 1/3 C butter to replace the chocolate chips. It was melt-in-your-mouth YUMMY! The 2nd time I used the chocolate chips the recipe called for, still good, but not as wonderful as we'd remembered. Last night I made again with the cocoa mixture and WOW!! We prefer it this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by munchmn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mela
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I've been making this for years and have yet to get a bad review. I add around 1/4 cup condensed milk to the oatmeal mix to make it chewier. When melting the chocolate, it is important not to get the flame up too high. Otherwise, the chocolate becomes too runny, making it very messy and impossible to cut into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are great bars! I always make this recipe in a larger bar pan and I find that it turns out better than in a 9 x 13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
These were delicious. I took them to an outing and everyone loved them. I did make one mistake that ended up making them taste even better. I accidentally put about 1/4 cup of the sweetened condensed milk in the cookie layer part. It ended up making them very chewy and good. I'll probably make this mistake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
These are very rich and tasty bars. The oatmeal layer could probably be reduced by half for the 13x9 pan-- it was thick and a little dry. Perhaps next time I will add less oatmeal. Also, I sprinkled the walnuts on top instead of adding them to the chocolate, which made a prettier presentation. The chocolate layer is delicious. With a little tweaking this recipe can be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
Very tasty. At first I thought it might be too crunchy but turns out a little chewy. I decrease the amount of sugar and just used 1 3/4 for the dough portion. As for the fudge part, I find it too sweet if I add the entire can of condensed milk, so I just added maybe..5/6 of the can. I actually melt the chocolate first with the butter (using double boiler or just boil some water in a pot and put a glass bowl on top to melt the chocolate with the steam so you won't burn them) then add in the condense milk and stir till well mixed. One thing to keep in mind is that when you place the fudge onto the bottom layer, make sure you leave about 1.5cm space so it won't be too close to the side. Or else the fudge will burn and get stuck to the side of the pan. I didn't do that and I broke the bar because bits and pieces were stuck onto the pan. Not good. Overall, this is GREAT but very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
A winner! The one thing that may not make it 5 stars, these are very rich (if you don't like that don't make them). My only change was to leave out the nuts. I was surprised with how nice these looked; they're the sort of thing you would bring to a bake sale, if you can sneak any out of the house :-p Fixes your chocolate & oatmeal cravings in one dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States