Chocolate Raisin Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Judging from the reviews, I knew this recipe needed a lot of tweaking. So here's what I did: I soaked the oats in the milk for about 30 minutes so the oats wouldn't absorb the liquid in the batter and make the muffins dry. I used 2 tb applesauce and 2 tb oil instead of the full 1/4 c to make them extra moist, and added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. Once I mixed up the batter it was very stiff do I added 1/4 c water to it. These came out nice and moist with a slightly dense, chewy texture and light chocolate flavor which I liked a lot. If you want more chocolate flavor though, you should probably double the amount of cocoa powder and increase the sugar to maybe about 3/4 c. This was a really nice concept for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 400luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
These muffins were ok. I changed a few things and I think it made them better. I substituted butter for oil and I also added 1/4 cup of Brown Sugar. Also Cinnamon and Vanilla really gave them a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
i DID NOT CARE FOR THESE MUFFINS AT ALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
They need more sugar but they are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manuela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
I found these muffins a bit dry. Would try shortening the cooking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
After reading other reviews, I started out by putting the oats in 1/2c milk to soak while working on the first section of the recipe. Due to inattention, I forgot to subtract this 1/2c milk from the later milk added, and this turned out to be a good mistake. The muffins were about the right dampness. For the 1/2c oat-soaking, I used vanilla soy milk, then switched over to my roommate's regular milk. My main issue with the muffins is they seem to suffer from some sort of flavor personality disorder with the cocoa/raisins. Here is what I plan on doing next time: - throwing a few handfuls of chocolate chips in with the raisins. - soaking the oats in slightly more milk. - substituting in some apple sauce, as recommended in another review. I could see these being pretty successful chocolate-chocolate-chip-oatmeal muffins. I wouldn't bake them the same way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2000
These muffins were really yummy, and easy to make. Just the right amount of chocolate flavour. They sure don't last long, even with the double batch I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I was excited to find this recipe because my daughter wanted to make chocolate muffins and I wanted to make something "healthy" so I thought this would be a good compromise. I made the recipe before reading the reviews. I followed the recipe (though I beat the egg separately before adding in) and they came out moist, but still had a "dry" taste, like they needed more sugar and/or more cocoa. They weren't quite chocolately enough. Maybe vanilla would have helped, as someone mentioned. I'd like to try again, but I don't think my daugther will eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Overall, these are pretty good muffins. After reading the other reviews, I did make some changes. I used 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (minus 2 tablespoons) and 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, and I doubled the cocoa powder (which is why I reduced the flour by 2 tablespoons). I used quick cooking oats instead of regular oats, 1/2 cup raisins, and 1/2 cup bittersweet chocolate chips. I also used skim milk, and omitted the oil, instead using 1/2 cup applesauce, which seemed to make the batter the right kind of consistency (as I was adding the wet ingredients, I could see what others meant about the batter being too thick if you stick to the amount of liquid used in the original recipe). The muffins came out of the oven moist, with a slightly crusty top, and are quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
followed previous suggestions, my batter came out so thick I thought I had screwed up somehow! I added 1/4 c of milk and that seemed to make it work better. nice muffin. I tossed in some flax meal for the heck of it and it's not bad at all. Previous adjustments listed were to: 1) soak the oats in the milk for about 30 minutes prior. 2) add extra water (or milk) if batter is too thick. someone else added applesauce instead of oil and said that was nice too. I'll try that next time. Great muffin though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States