Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very moist! I made doubled the recipe and made my cream cheese icing from scratch. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
wow, good recipe, easy too. i usually don't like cake but this turned out so moist, so tasty. i added pumpkin pie spice as suggested, great touch. i used a cream cheese frosting from this site, and added mini chocolate chips to the top of the cake after frosted. it got a thumbs up from my 12 year old daughter. it's a keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was a definate hit at Thanksgiving. A wonderful change from the typical holiday pumkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I made this recipe into mini muffins, only using 2 egg whites, and 2 T. of water, cake mix and one can of pumpkin. I did not frost them, they are a sweet treat without it! Delicious, and a pretty guilt free snack for my chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This cake was moist and tastey, but I didn't really taste the pumpkin, and I was hoping to. I may try again and add some pumpkin spices or use the canned pumpkin that already has the spices. I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting recipe I found on this site and it was GREAT with the cake. Again, was good, worth making, but not so sure how the pumpkin comes into play, other than it may of helped the cake be all the more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Incredibly moist cake! As mentioned by another reviewer, you can't taste the pumpkin at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe was great. I added 2tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients, and it made it more of a pumpkin pie chocolate cake. Also, after I iced the cake, I sprinkled cinnamon over the top, which made it look great, and added a bit more spice to it. My family has really enjoyed this cake; it's great for all of our fall birthdays! So easy too! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent cake. I used a dark chocolate cake mix,and pasterized egg whites. Skipped the frosting for health reasons. Great way to add vitamin A to your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
great recipe in a pinch! i was out of flour and this made tasty little pumpkin cupcakes. i also added spices and chocolate chips. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I fed this to the hordes at my son's 2nd birthday party, and I think that one of the great things about this recipe is that you don't taste the pumpkin! It was a hit, the kids went back for seconds, and I'll definitely use this recipe again. I bet it would make great cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States