Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Recipe was tasty as written, but I have some helpful tips for people who are health conscious: try this WITHOUT using the eggs, oil, or cream cheese. Add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the pumpkin and cake mix, and even though it sounds odd, it's SO moist, delicious, and HEALTHY!!! Trust me, try this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe was great. I added 2tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients, and it made it more of a pumpkin pie chocolate cake. Also, after I iced the cake, I sprinkled cinnamon over the top, which made it look great, and added a bit more spice to it. My family has really enjoyed this cake; it's great for all of our fall birthdays! So easy too! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This cake was moist and tastey, but I didn't really taste the pumpkin, and I was hoping to. I may try again and add some pumpkin spices or use the canned pumpkin that already has the spices. I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting recipe I found on this site and it was GREAT with the cake. Again, was good, worth making, but not so sure how the pumpkin comes into play, other than it may of helped the cake be all the more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I made this recipe into mini muffins, only using 2 egg whites, and 2 T. of water, cake mix and one can of pumpkin. I did not frost them, they are a sweet treat without it! Delicious, and a pretty guilt free snack for my chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake is amazing. I used to have another recipe for a chocolate pumpkin cake and, must to my dismay, I lost it. This covered the loss! I have to admit, I used more oil (my old recipe called for 1/3 cup, and I believe in a fat cake!). I also added pumpkin pie spice and vanilla to the mix. I only baked the cake for 30 minutes. Finally, I don't do cream cheese frosting, so I mixed some chocolate frosting with a little more pumpkin and some cinnamon for a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I'm impressed, actually. Had I not tried this for myself I wouldn't have believed it. Wouldn't have believed that they'd be moist, tender and, most important, that the texture would be right. It was yes to all. While I was tempted to tinker with the eggs and/or oil I didn't, as I wanted to see this for myself as written. These didn't taste like pumpkin at all, which was fine by me - I didn't want them to. In fact, I wanted a bold chocolate flavor, so I added a teaspoon each of chocolate and vanilla extracts as well as a cup of miniature chocolate chips. I chose this PUMPKIN chocolate cake recipe because it doesn't hurt to infuse your cake with a little good stuff and...because I still have an abundant hoard of canned pumpkin thanks to the Great Pumpkin Shortage of a year or two or three ago. I baked this as cupcakes/muffins, 350 degrees about 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I made this recipe as cupcakes for a last minute entry in a Pumpkin Recipe contest. I won first prize! It's sweeter than most pumpkin recipes, and I used Devil's Food Cake Mix so it was a little richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This cake was extra light tasting and good and only had a mild pumpkin taste. I made it as 2 round cakes instead of 1 13 x 9. Be sure to smooth the batter out COMPLETELY in the pan as the thick batter will not do this on its own - mine ended up being a little lop-sided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very moist! I made doubled the recipe and made my cream cheese icing from scratch. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It was a great chocolate cake. I tasted no pumpkin, but it was nice to leave out the eggs and oil and have them replaced with a healthy vegetable. Very heavy, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States