Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This cake was moist and tastey, but I didn't really taste the pumpkin, and I was hoping to. I may try again and add some pumpkin spices or use the canned pumpkin that already has the spices. I used the Whipped Cream Cream Cheese frosting recipe I found on this site and it was GREAT with the cake. Again, was good, worth making, but not so sure how the pumpkin comes into play, other than it may of helped the cake be all the more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
Very moist! I made doubled the recipe and made my cream cheese icing from scratch. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Incredibly moist cake! As mentioned by another reviewer, you can't taste the pumpkin at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
This recipe was great. I added 2tsp of pumpkin pie spice to the dry ingredients, and it made it more of a pumpkin pie chocolate cake. Also, after I iced the cake, I sprinkled cinnamon over the top, which made it look great, and added a bit more spice to it. My family has really enjoyed this cake; it's great for all of our fall birthdays! So easy too! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I love pumpkin and chocolate so this was a delicious treat! However, the icing kind of overpowered the pumpkin taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flossmoor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Extremely moist, but this flavor marriage needs a legal separation. First cake I've ever tossed in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Was not as moist as everyone said. Attempted adding pumpkin pie spice like previous poster. Family did not care for cake, went in trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was a definate hit at Thanksgiving. A wonderful change from the typical holiday pumkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Excellent cake. I used a dark chocolate cake mix,and pasterized egg whites. Skipped the frosting for health reasons. Great way to add vitamin A to your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
Recipe was tasty as written, but I have some helpful tips for people who are health conscious: try this WITHOUT using the eggs, oil, or cream cheese. Add 1 tsp of cinnamon to the pumpkin and cake mix, and even though it sounds odd, it's SO moist, delicious, and HEALTHY!!! Trust me, try this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States