Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I made this recipe as cupcakes for a last minute entry in a Pumpkin Recipe contest. I won first prize! It's sweeter than most pumpkin recipes, and I used Devil's Food Cake Mix so it was a little richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I made this recipe into mini muffins, only using 2 egg whites, and 2 T. of water, cake mix and one can of pumpkin. I did not frost them, they are a sweet treat without it! Delicious, and a pretty guilt free snack for my chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I fed this to the hordes at my son's 2nd birthday party, and I think that one of the great things about this recipe is that you don't taste the pumpkin! It was a hit, the kids went back for seconds, and I'll definitely use this recipe again. I bet it would make great cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
wow, good recipe, easy too. i usually don't like cake but this turned out so moist, so tasty. i added pumpkin pie spice as suggested, great touch. i used a cream cheese frosting from this site, and added mini chocolate chips to the top of the cake after frosted. it got a thumbs up from my 12 year old daughter. it's a keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I wasn't too fond of this cake. I added the extra spices like other reviewers suggested, but the taste just wasn't desireable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This cake is amazing. I used to have another recipe for a chocolate pumpkin cake and, must to my dismay, I lost it. This covered the loss! I have to admit, I used more oil (my old recipe called for 1/3 cup, and I believe in a fat cake!). I also added pumpkin pie spice and vanilla to the mix. I only baked the cake for 30 minutes. Finally, I don't do cream cheese frosting, so I mixed some chocolate frosting with a little more pumpkin and some cinnamon for a perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
This cake was extra light tasting and good and only had a mild pumpkin taste. I made it as 2 round cakes instead of 1 13 x 9. Be sure to smooth the batter out COMPLETELY in the pan as the thick batter will not do this on its own - mine ended up being a little lop-sided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was a big hit when I made it. Not an overpowering pumpkin taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
great recipe in a pinch! i was out of flour and this made tasty little pumpkin cupcakes. i also added spices and chocolate chips. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States