Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I have made this several times and it is a huge hit! I have prepared the recipe as stated, and the "healthier" way as well, and find it to be just as tasty either way! I also add 2 t. pumpkin pie spice to bring the flavor of the pumpkin out. Five stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericablueeyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I liked this recipe, however I read advice to not use eggs or oil, so I only used half. I don't think it turned out as moist as if I would have used the whole amount. But the idea to add pumpkin spices was great. I also think there could have been more pumkin flavor, maybe even more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
It is an easy, quick and healthier option, but nothing that anyone "wowed" over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This recipe was really easy to make, but I agree with others. I couldn't taste the pumpkin at all. They tasted like chocolate cupcakes with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Hamlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This is a nice moist cake, and I even omitted the oil. Makes for a moist lower fat cake but don't be surprised by the lack of pumpkin flavor. I even added 2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This cake turned out pretty good - I added a full tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice and I honestly think it could've used a little more. I like a pumpkin taste. Cake isn't healthy, but the good news is - pumpkin is pretty healthy and gives this cake the moisture, so I think you might be able to get away with leaving out the oil and perhaps the eggs (maybe just egg whites?) so I'll try the other member's healthier version of this next time. Overall a good, easy cake! Only took like 10 minutes to make and 35 in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wow, this was GOOD! I made it last night for friends and it was a hit. Fortunately for cooks like me, the recipe is forgiving: I bought a 30 oz can of pumpkin instead of 15 oz. Long story short, I realized my mistake but the cake still ended up with about 22 oz of pumpkin. I think that made it tastier, though -- and I just baked it a little longer. It had a mild pumpkin flavor and was really moist. Other notes: I used Devil's Food cake mix and added 2 tsp. of pumpkin spice and served it with a Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I made this recipe as cupcakes for a last minute entry in a Pumpkin Recipe contest. I won first prize! It's sweeter than most pumpkin recipes, and I used Devil's Food Cake Mix so it was a little richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I made this recipe into mini muffins, only using 2 egg whites, and 2 T. of water, cake mix and one can of pumpkin. I did not frost them, they are a sweet treat without it! Delicious, and a pretty guilt free snack for my chocolate craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I fed this to the hordes at my son's 2nd birthday party, and I think that one of the great things about this recipe is that you don't taste the pumpkin! It was a hit, the kids went back for seconds, and I'll definitely use this recipe again. I bet it would make great cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by red_river_princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States