Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I made these into cupcakes for a bake sale, and they were the first item to sell out! I used homemade cream cheese frosting to top them, and it was a huge hit. The cupcakes are incredibly moist, and you cannot tell there is any pumpkin in it! A slightly healthier alternative to regular chocolate cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I used the "healthy" suggestion of using only the pumpkin and devils food cake mix - and wow! You can't taste the pumpkin, but these are the best moist chocolate muffins ever. I baked them in cupcake tins for 40 minutes at 350 - until a toothpick came out clean - and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
we added 25 oz pumpkin and put chocolate chips on the cupcakes before baking, they are good and look great when done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Jensen
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Super simple and delicious! I also added a teaspoon of vanilla and a cup of light sour cream. Very moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I get requests for these ALL THE TIME. People are totally shocked when I tell them there is pumpkin in them, but they are SO MOIST! I roast a sugar pie pumpkin & mash it with a fork to replace the canned pumpkin, and i use a dark chocolate cake mix. I also make up a simple cream cheese frosting (1 stick of butter, 1 half-stick of cream cheese, one box of powdered sugar. a little vanilla to taste & milk to the preferred consistancy) because I can't stand canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It was a great chocolate cake. I tasted no pumpkin, but it was nice to leave out the eggs and oil and have them replaced with a healthy vegetable. Very heavy, but yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I used the 'dark chocolate' cake mix and a can (15oz) of plan pumpkin, and nothing else. It needs to be said that you will not taste the pumpkin, just the mmmm chocolate. Also when mixing these two ingredients. I found it helpful to mix 1/3 of cake mix and some pumpkin till smooth, then another 1/3 of cake mix with more pumpkin till smooth. Now the rest of cake mix and pumpkin mix till all is smooth. It will be a thick batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
My husband hates pumpkin, but I wanted to make a healthier cake and I had pumpkin I needed to use. Easy as cake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Ummm...if you follow the recipe exactly it's not very spectacular. Tastes just like regular cake mix except a little more moist (stick to your mouth moist). I'm not surprised that the rave reviews are mostly from people who used pre-spiced canned pumpkin. I'm a die-hard fan of cinnamon and chocolate like what you get from Mexican chocolate cake. Adding spices to this recipe does jazz it up, otherwise it's just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I made this for a birthday party and didn't tell anyone the "secret" ingredient until someone complimented it! My sister-in-law thought it was so good, she asked me to make her daughter's cake (instead of buying one at a bakery this year)!! Oh yeah, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINACABINA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Turlock, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States