Chocolate Pumpkin Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Made exactly as written, but used organic cake mix. Anyway, these were okay, but after day 1 they were REALLY dry and after day 2 I couldn't eat them, they were not good. I didn't frost them, which I'm sure made a difference. Frosting makes everything better right?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Great moist recipe! Made a bourbon version for Ky Derby party: added 1 cup mini choc chips, 1/2 c bourbon. Topped w/1/2 c toasted pecan pieces. Made glaze w/ approx 3/4 c powdered sugar, 2 TB cocoa, 2 TB butter, & 1 TB bourbon. Recipe = 1 med loaf pan and 3 mini loaf pans. Let sit overnight in fridge. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very good, made with fresh baked pumpkin (pureed)... turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYREDLOCKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
The pumpkin flavor wasn't very strong, but it was a very moist cake and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Adding the 2 Tsp. of pumpkin spice really brought out the flavor in the cake. Thanks for the suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
An absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Nice and dense, which I love! A homemade taste from a box mix, can't beat that with a stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I tried the low fat version: omitting the eggs & vegetable oil. Makes thick, spongy cookies/cupcakes. I also added a teaspoon-ish of cinnamon. This is a keeper for me. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaye Bunn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Tasted great, kids couldn't tell there was pumpkin in the cake and it was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinfor5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Made this cake for company and everyone LOVED it........except me! It has the odd texture of a cake made w/o oil, like when applesauce is used......moist, but rather thick & dense. I followed the directions to the letter, no changes at all. I gave it 4 stars because it was very well received, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States