Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
I tried this recipe (twice in fact) and followed the directions exactly. I could not get the squares to stick together. Am I missing something? I seem to have this problem with the corn syrup and sugar mixtures. They do not seem to bind well to the cereal mixture. Any suggestions out there?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yummy! As other reviews suggested, I changed the quantities to 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup honey (rather than corn syrup), 1/2 cup butter, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also substituted 1 cup of raisins for one cup of the puffed wheat. And I mixed about 1/4 cup white sugar, 1 tsp cocoa powder and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and spread it over the bottom of the prepared pan before adding the puffed wheat mixture.They were just delicious! Thanks everyone for your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2001
I have a similar version - 8c. puffed wheat 1/2c. butter 1/2c. corn syrup 2T cocoa 1tsp vanilla 1c. brown sugar I found that for chewy squares add all ingredients but the puffed wheat and butter, bring the mixture to a boil and then add the butter and then boil for about a minute, the longer it boils the crunchier the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veganinvancouver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I love these puffed wheat squares! Although, I have to agree with one of the earlier reviewers, there's either too much puffed or not enough sauce but that's easily adjusted, still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2000
quick and easy, but b/c of the hot syrup, kids need to be supervised at all times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
I remember these treats from childhood and now make them for my grandchildren. Just the BEST treat ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
The kids just loved these!! They are a very easy snack to make with the kids. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe,for as easy as it is, has won over all my family and friends. It disappears very quickly, and I for one love it because it is so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
An excellent, and easy recipe! I make these and they are gone in no time! Even my 1 1/2 year old triplets love this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
A classic recipe that we all go back to every now and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States