Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
The recipe was great once I doubled the liquid amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinf31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I changed up the recipe a bit to make it low-fat. Instead of butter I put 2/3 cup mini marshmallows, put in splenda instead of brown sugar, and used some millet puffs too (i had some left over). There was definitely enough coating for the puffs with all the marshmallows. I also heated everything in the large bowl in the microwave and then added the wheat while mixing. I shaped mine into little balls in muffin tins. Cute and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I give this recipe 4 stars because they were super easy. A go-to for a quick snack or treat after dinner. There was a little something missing... haven't figured it out yet, but good for a quick, every day treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
The basics are there, but I too, like most, found this to be lacking in stickiness, so I couldn't give it full marks. I also found that 9x9 isn't enough for us. I came up with my own after lots of experimenting that feeds us all *and* sticks together well. I pack it tightly in a 9x 13 greased pan. I use: 2/3 cup butter or margarine, 1 cup corn syrup (I spray the cup with PAM so the syrup comes out easily), 2 cups brown sugar, 2 tsp. vanilla, 5 Tbsp. cocoa powder (add more if you like a more chocolate flavour), and 10 to 10 1/2 cups puffed wheat cereal Then I pretty much follow the directions that the submitter uses, though I don't time the boiling of the mixture. Once it gets fairly bubbly, then I remove it from the heat. I also use a medium pot because I'm too lazy to butter the sides. *** Brenda--It's been a while since I made any, but if I recall, I don't let it boil for a full minute. Once it gets to the rapid boiling point, I leave it for a bit(I don't know, maybe thirty or forty seconds?), then I pull it off. If that doesn't help, you could probably decrease some of the brown sugar (I don't pack the brown sugar when I measure it). Honestly, I can't remember ever having any leftovers to notice if it goes hard, but I think over boiling is generally what makes the syrup/squares harden quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yummy! As other reviews suggested, I changed the quantities to 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup honey (rather than corn syrup), 1/2 cup butter, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also substituted 1 cup of raisins for one cup of the puffed wheat. And I mixed about 1/4 cup white sugar, 1 tsp cocoa powder and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and spread it over the bottom of the prepared pan before adding the puffed wheat mixture.They were just delicious! Thanks everyone for your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I did as other reviewers had sugested and used 1c. Brown sugar, 1/2c. corn syrup, 1/2c. margarine, and 1 tsp of vanilla. I boiled it for about 2 mins. Tastes great! Sticks together well! Will definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
i did not like this recipe very much. i used almost half of the puffed wheat (because i like them gooey) and had the same problem of them not sticking together. wouldn't use it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I'm torn between liking these and not. I only had about 5 cups of puffed kamut that I wanted to get rid of, and was out of cocoa so I subbed 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate for the cocoa and about halved the cereal. The squares taste a bit bland until you hit a chunk of chocolate syrup mixture that didn't get totally mixed in, and then they taste better. I think honey in place of the corn syrup would be wonderful. I could see myself making this again if I buy more puffed cereal that gets just half eaten before we're tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Its an incredible recipes, I can tell by looking at it, (it hasn't cooled yet,) But, there wasn't enough coating, and i only added 7 cups of puffed wheat. So my suggestion, to everyone, is just add like, for example, 1/3 a cup ...brown sugar instead of 1/4. Before I put my puffed wheat mixture into the greased 9x9 pan, I sqrinkled cinnamon, white sugar and cocoa on the bootom. Have fun with this recipes. Its easy to clean too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The taste was there, but it wouldn't stick together. I'll try tripling the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States