Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Yummy! As other reviews suggested, I changed the quantities to 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup honey (rather than corn syrup), 1/2 cup butter, and added 1 tsp of vanilla. I also substituted 1 cup of raisins for one cup of the puffed wheat. And I mixed about 1/4 cup white sugar, 1 tsp cocoa powder and 1/2 tsp cinnamon and spread it over the bottom of the prepared pan before adding the puffed wheat mixture.They were just delicious! Thanks everyone for your suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I did as other reviewers had sugested and used 1c. Brown sugar, 1/2c. corn syrup, 1/2c. margarine, and 1 tsp of vanilla. I boiled it for about 2 mins. Tastes great! Sticks together well! Will definitely make again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
i did not like this recipe very much. i used almost half of the puffed wheat (because i like them gooey) and had the same problem of them not sticking together. wouldn't use it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRAMBUESA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I'm torn between liking these and not. I only had about 5 cups of puffed kamut that I wanted to get rid of, and was out of cocoa so I subbed 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate for the cocoa and about halved the cereal. The squares taste a bit bland until you hit a chunk of chocolate syrup mixture that didn't get totally mixed in, and then they taste better. I think honey in place of the corn syrup would be wonderful. I could see myself making this again if I buy more puffed cereal that gets just half eaten before we're tired of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Its an incredible recipes, I can tell by looking at it, (it hasn't cooled yet,) But, there wasn't enough coating, and i only added 7 cups of puffed wheat. So my suggestion, to everyone, is just add like, for example, 1/3 a cup ...brown sugar instead of 1/4. Before I put my puffed wheat mixture into the greased 9x9 pan, I sqrinkled cinnamon, white sugar and cocoa on the bootom. Have fun with this recipes. Its easy to clean too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
The taste was there, but it wouldn't stick together. I'll try tripling the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
These were good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I love these, they're so crunchy! It's a great way to use up a cereal box nobody wants... :) Reduced the amount of puffed wheat as suggested by other (5 cups). Great with PB added, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is what I change to the recipe to make it even better: 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup corn syrup, 1/2 cup butter, and add 1 tsp of vanilla. I let it boil for 3 minutes, and then pour it over the puffed wheat. These additions make it the yummiest p.w. squared you will ever eat. (And they stick together well)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
277 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
they tasted great, but i could not get them to stick together. I adjusted it to 1/4 cup butter, 3/4 cup corn syrup, 1 cup brown sugar, 1tsp vanilla, 3tbsp cocoa, 8 cups puff wheat. and let it boil for three minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States