Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I love this recipie, if you want it more chocloatly just double or triple the sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teenajoh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I read through some comments and took the advice to put margarine in very last and I added a handful of small marshmallows as I finished boiling the corn syrup, cocoa and brwn sugar. Also only boiled for about 30 to 45 seconds... I've had people rave about this - stick perfectly and never hard and crunchie - don't boil the margarine/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
well this recipe didnt stick too well but when i added the modifications it was the yummiest thing i ever tasted. but for an added boost i put pecans and chocolate bits on top while is was still hot then drizzled caramel. yes it was sweet but this will kill any sweet cravings you are having.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micahrmichel

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I would add another 2 tablespoons to make it more chocolatey, but it was excellent! I took it to a back yard bbq and it was the first thing gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedHeadNewlyWed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Tasted great, but didn't stick together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krystaharder
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I took the advice of other readers and doubled the saucy stuff! ;) I also added two tsp vanilla, and replaced the unhealthy corn syrup with honey! The honey does make it a bit sweeter, but it's much healthier than corn syrup, and it has a nice light honey flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystaharder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Wonderful recipe but I find that in order to get it to stick properly, it's best to wet the palms of your hands lightly with tap water and press the mixture into the pan carefully but firmly after you have used the spatula (without the butter) with your damp palms. The water stops the heat from burning your palms and also stops the mixture from sticking to you. The mixture holds much better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This is a stingy version of the original recipe most people are looking for. After a bit of a search I have found the most used recipe is: 1/2 c butter, 1/2c corn syrup, 1cup brown sugar, 2 tsp cocoa, 2 tsp. vanilla for 8 cups of puffed wheat. As well, by rapid boiling the syrup for one minute I think most people without a candy thermometer run the risk of taking it to a hard candy stage (hence the comments about rock hard squares). Bring the syrup to boil and as soon as it hits rapid boil remove it from heat. Should work out better for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This recipe is alright, however I suggest doubling everything but the puff wheat otherwise theres not enough chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Wouldn't use this recipe again. I love puffed wheat squares and these are just as easy as any other but lacking in gooey-ness and sweetness. They need way more chocolate sauce and the sauce itself needs way more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Warman, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States