Chocolate Puffed Wheat Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
worst recipe! These were bone dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Motz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe calls for too much cereal. If the cereal is reduced to 4 or 5 cups then it is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Goertz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I was really disappointed with this recipe. The basics were there but there wasn't enough syrup to keep it from crumbling apart. Wish I had read the reviews before I made the squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Lorenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
My husband loves these!! However, I like many reviewers, change the amounts. 8c. puffed wheat 1/2c. butter 1/2c. corn syrup 3T cocoa 1tsp vanilla 1c. brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Dry, tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dick Dragon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
wish I would have read the comments first the chocolate didnt even close to coat all the cereal so if I make it again I will at least 1/2 the cereal. for now im left with dry crumbling flavorless puffed squares
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prince Albert, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
love puffed wheat squares...i add mini marshmallows to my cocoa mixture, stir til melted then add to the cereal. \not only does it stick together better, it gives it a great chew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Great taste to the recipe, however, I only used 5 cups of puffed wheat and then added overflowing 1/2c brown sugar, 3/4c corn syrup,1/2c butter, 1.5 tsp of vanilla, 2tbsp of cocoa. It is much better with excess sauce rather than being too dry. If you still want moist squares using 8cups of puffed wheat, I would at least double or double plus half of the sauce to make them really sticky and yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsedlak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I have tried this recipe twice now. I followed the directions to the letter. I let them cool completely the first time (2 hours) and they crumbled. 2nd time? Cooled 2 hours, cooled another hour in the fridge. Still crumbled. It made a decently tasty crumbly mess, but they were completely unsuccessful as a bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Schmitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Another idea here for the peanut butter lovers; add 1 cup peanut butter-instead of the cocoa , 1/4 cup corn syrup and brown sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States