Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I don't want to be the "Debbie downer" of the group, but this cake was kind of horrible. I made a devils food cake from scratch a couple of weeks ago, to which I added a box of pudding mix, and it turned out fantastically moist, rich, and chocolate-y. This one, however, turned out with a reddish/orangish/brown color, it settled in a freakish way, with a strip of gross pudding as the middle- and it literally has NO chocolate taste to it what-so-ever. I have no idea how that happened, since I didn't stray from this recipe at all, aside from cooking it longer. This cake seriously disappointed me with how horribly it turned out. Next time, I'll just take the extra time and energy to make the cake from scratch- at least I won't be wasting ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.marie1988

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
It was really good! I love it! I did it with two 9" round cake pans then I poured to glaze over it with powered sugar. I also baked it for an hour like the rest suggested. It came out perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is by far one of the best cakes I have EVER made. It is exactly what everyone says. Moist, decadent, and very chocolately. I baked mine for one hour after the other reviews that I read. I took it out and sliced off a piece after about an hour from taking it out of the oven. I thought maybe it was still undercooked but NO. It's just fudgy. Delicious. I didn't even add an icing to it. Adding the icing maybe overkill. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Perfectly wonderful for the chocoholic craving a fix - after a piece with a cold glass of milk, your PMS problems are over!!! Even my hubby agrees; he says "After eating a piece, I can honestly say I don't have PMS." (The weirdo!) Rich, dense, chocolatey - this cake is amazing. Next time I will add a tsp or two of cinnamon - I love what cinnamon does for chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I absolutely love this cake recipe. I used it for my son's 5th birthday party and it was a hit. I am so glad I found this! I will be making it all the time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
My son volunteered me to bring cupcakes to his school meeting. So I searched and found this recipe. I doubled the batch since I needed 3 dozen cupcakes. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and used a full bag of mini chocolate chips in the batter. I didn't make the glaze. I ended up using store bought chocolate fudge frosting. The batter was the consistency of whipped mousse. I filled the cups 3/4 full and baked for 23 minutes in a gas oven. I ended up with 51 cupcakes. The tops did sink in a little but after topping it with frosting, you couldn't tell. I ate one without frosting and they were great. Then I couldn't help myself and ate another with frosting and it was chocolate heaven. This reminded me of the recipe of Too Much Chocolate Cake, but not as dense. I guess I have to thank my son for volunteering me to make cupcakes for I'd pass up this recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have been making this recipe almost exactly as written for over two years now and EVERYONE loves it. Whether it be in cake or cupcake form it always gets rave reviews!!! The only thing i tweak is I use melted butter instead of oil; it just feels right! Try substituting different flavor chips, if you want variety but its a real CHOCOLATE cake.mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Oh my gosh! This was the best ever. In fact, this is something that I will make for guests. I'm already making it again for a friend who is having chemo treatments. She wanted a chocolate cake! I hope everyone will give this one a try!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this cake several times for gatherings w/ friend/family and has been a huge hit. Very easy to make and super moist. Funny I am posting this now because I am making it and forgot how long to bake it. Ooops. This definately worth a try and trust me you will got back to it time and time again. Quick go to for last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hailee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
WOW, Craving chocolate make this cake. Family loved it, even the non chocolate lover in the house. The only thing I did different was I used vanilla pudding, but that was because I was out of chocolate. I don't think it made any difference to the taste it was still very CHOCOLATE cake. Have a tall glass of cold milk to drink you will need it. Will definitely make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States