Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
My son volunteered me to bring cupcakes to his school meeting. So I searched and found this recipe. I doubled the batch since I needed 3 dozen cupcakes. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and used a full bag of mini chocolate chips in the batter. I didn't make the glaze. I ended up using store bought chocolate fudge frosting. The batter was the consistency of whipped mousse. I filled the cups 3/4 full and baked for 23 minutes in a gas oven. I ended up with 51 cupcakes. The tops did sink in a little but after topping it with frosting, you couldn't tell. I ate one without frosting and they were great. Then I couldn't help myself and ate another with frosting and it was chocolate heaven. This reminded me of the recipe of Too Much Chocolate Cake, but not as dense. I guess I have to thank my son for volunteering me to make cupcakes for I'd pass up this recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I have been making this recipe almost exactly as written for over two years now and EVERYONE loves it. Whether it be in cake or cupcake form it always gets rave reviews!!! The only thing i tweak is I use melted butter instead of oil; it just feels right! Try substituting different flavor chips, if you want variety but its a real CHOCOLATE cake.mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Oh my gosh! This was the best ever. In fact, this is something that I will make for guests. I'm already making it again for a friend who is having chemo treatments. She wanted a chocolate cake! I hope everyone will give this one a try!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I have made this cake several times for gatherings w/ friend/family and has been a huge hit. Very easy to make and super moist. Funny I am posting this now because I am making it and forgot how long to bake it. Ooops. This definately worth a try and trust me you will got back to it time and time again. Quick go to for last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hailee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
WOW, Craving chocolate make this cake. Family loved it, even the non chocolate lover in the house. The only thing I did different was I used vanilla pudding, but that was because I was out of chocolate. I don't think it made any difference to the taste it was still very CHOCOLATE cake. Have a tall glass of cold milk to drink you will need it. Will definitely make again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Way too watery:( Next time not use water or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Yomitan, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of cakes...but this has to be the best cake I have ever eaten. It is soooooo good. It stays super moist and is so chocolaty I gave some away to my neighbors and now I have 5 people who want to pay me to make them for them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chubbiebunnies77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cortlandt Manor, New York, USA
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This is my family's potluck cake of choice and we always get asked for the recipe. The melted chocolate chips scattered throughout the moist cake are just heavenly. However, instead of a chocolate drizzle on top, we usually just dust it with a little powdered sugar because it really doesn't need any more chocolate. Using a butter cake mix in lieu of the devil's food is also very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I made this cake exactly as indicated and it was wonderful! Yes, it is very rich and chocolatey and moist! If you love chocolate you will love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Awesome!! The only thing I changed was only putting 1 cup of chocolate chips in the cake after reading a few reviewers saying it was too rich with two. It was delicious. Everyone scraped up every bite and my husband said it was the best cake he's ever tasted. Very rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States