Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This cake is excellent. It's rich, moist and intensely chocolate. I tweaked the recipe slightly and used 2 cups of mini chips in the batter instead of the regular chocolate chips, substituted 1/2 cup Kahlua for the water, and used a BC Chocolate Fudge cake mix instead of Devil's Food. As most reviewers discovered, it takes about an hour to bake and as a matter of fact, I think mine took longer. I made a Chocolate Kahlua Glaze instead of the one in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Absolutely wonderful. I have made this cake 3 times already, and every CRUMB is eaten. I don't even bother with the frosting. I've found it makes it too rich for me. A little powdered sugar sprinkled on the top is perfect! Very,very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
This is one FANTASTIC recipe! I made this yesterday for a friend's dinner party and it was a huge hit. I took the advice of previous reviewers and cooked it for one hour. After one look at that horrendous nutritional table (not for the faint hearted) I used low fat milk and sour cream in an attempt to reduce the fat content. I filled the centre of the bundt with whole strawberries, then drizzled the glaze over both the cake and the strawberries. I served it with vanilla ice-cream, and it was heaven! I chilled it in the fridge for a few hours, which resulted in a sort of dense, but fudgey cake. Onto the treadmill for me today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of this. It is a fairly average, pudding enhanced doctored cake mix but even at that, certainly not the best I've ever tried. Dare I say that it was TOO rich, too heavy and dense? It was just overkill. Also, as others have noted, the baking time is not within the range of being accurate. As written, if you're using the pan as directed, you'll find you need to bake this at least an hour, if not 75 minutes. If I had to do this all over, I would have eliminated the chocolate chips in the batter, or maybe used half the amount in miniature chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Could chocolate cake actually be TOO rich? If so this is it. Extremely moist. Make sure you use a large bundt pan, mine overflowed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
I LOVED this cake!! It was delicious!If you are reading this and wondering if you should make it, I have an answer for you:YOU SHOULD! In fact, you should already be in your kitchen making it. This cake is a chocolate lovers paradise.It's rich and fluffy and well, CHOCOLATEY!! I give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
try using raspberry chocolate chips and a light drizzle of pureed raspberries. add a bit of cool whip with a dusting of cinnamon. very elegant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
Incredibly moist! Everyone loved this! The only problem I had was that I had too much batter for my bundt pan and I filled it so full that it flowed over and burned on the oven. I will dump out excess batter next time so that my house doesn't smell of burned cake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
very easy and good. I used mini chips, chocolate milk instead of white and lite sour cream. I baked for about 55 min. I thought it was going to overflow but it didn't. I used non-stick aluminum foil on top for the last few minutes of baking to prevent the top from getting too hard and brown. I topped with Chocolate Glaze from this site.Excellent cake. Thanks Jackie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
This one is decadnet. No one would know it was so easy to make. It is soooo moist. I used german choc. cake mix and chocolate chips (in mix and for frosting) to keep it from being too rich and chocolatey. It was great this way too. Carla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States