Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This turned out great. I made a few small changes. I used low fat sour cream and skim milk, and substituted Kahlua for the water. I didn't add all the chocolate chips because I thought it might be too much chocolate--sounds crazy I know. I spooned a rum glaze (from another recipe on this site) over the top after I had poked some holes in the cake and put in the fridge over night. Yum yum yum. It is excellent and the rum glaze added some extra moisture and sweetness without adding more chocolate. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I have made this cake more than once and it is always a favorite. I usually have to cook it longer (by about 20 minutes). My stove is calibrated, and my pan is standard-size, so I am not sure why this is. Anyway, to avoid burning, I turn off the oven and let the ambiant heat finish the cake off. Perfect! Also, it is dense so it takes a while to cool. Be patient; it's tasty enough to make the wait worth while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Perhaps the bundt pan I own is smaller than recommended...I really don't know what size I have but it seems like a regular one to me. The cake did not bake completely even though I baked it ten extra minutes. I have a convection oven, so it bakes at a lower temperature but the circulation fan is so supposed to compensate for the temperature. I inserted a toothpick into the center and it came out clean except for the very tip...I figured I inserted it to the bottom and waited another 3 minutes and took it out...a small pile of cake was deposited on the bottom of my oven...I quickly cleaned the oven while it was still hot. The cake slowly deflated into a sunken mass...even so, I waited 15 minutes and determined to have my chocolate fix turned it over onto my cooling rack...what a mess emerged oozing onto my stove and counter...it almost looks like an unfinished brownie that tastes like cakemix...my recommendation is make sure your pan can accommodate this cake when its finished baking or use a 9x13 glass pan...that way you can be sure your cake is really done...bundt cakes are hard to bake through because of the density and you cant be sure if the cake is done until its too late to do anything about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Amazing!! I wanted something quick and easy to make that would please picky eaters. I whipped this cake up in no time and served it to rave reviews. It is so rich you'd never guess it came from a plain old cake mix - and you never have to tell, either! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
The Best! I also had to bake a little longer, just 10 min., and also used a chocolate fudge cake mix. Took it to our tailgate and 8 people ate the entire cake! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Made for a bake sale and it was gone in 15 minutes before anything else! I didn't make the sauce but it was still super moist! OMG I've never had a chocolate cake this good. ABsolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Quick and easy, yet was the hit of the Fall Festival. A chocolate lover's dream. The cake is light, yet is packed with chocolate. The cake is wonderful with or without the topping. I did cut back on the fudge topping. If you loved Molten Chocolate Cake, this is the simple alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
I agree with the one reviewer who said it still tastes like a box cake . . . it kinda does. But, i had a box cake and wanted to make something fun with it . . . i'm not sure I couldnt have done better without the mixes tho. If you usually cook with mixes, you'll probably like it. If you generally avoid boxes and cans, its just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I don't like cake and made this for my son's 19th birthday party. I doubled the recipe and cooked it in two 9 x 13 cake pans. Otherwise followed recipe. It was fantastic. All the kids wanted the recipe and I even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sivapc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States