Chocolate Pudding Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I wasn't a big fan of this. It is a fairly average, pudding enhanced doctored cake mix but even at that, certainly not the best I've ever tried. Dare I say that it was TOO rich, too heavy and dense? It was just overkill. Also, as others have noted, the baking time is not within the range of being accurate. As written, if you're using the pan as directed, you'll find you need to bake this at least an hour, if not 75 minutes. If I had to do this all over, I would have eliminated the chocolate chips in the batter, or maybe used half the amount in miniature chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
This recipe is delicious! So easy and so moist! It makes a lot though, keep an eye in it in the oven to make sure it does not spill over as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I followed this recipe to the T' ... this cake is perfect!!!!! everyone at work and home loved it! Its so moist, perfect warm or cold. I made sure my bundt pan was big enough as the mix does rise abit... i'm someone who grew up with home made cake and this did not at all taste like boxed cake mix!!! everyone needs to make this cake !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Very delicious! I couldn't find devils cake food mix in the Netherlands so I used a regular kinda chocolate pound-cake mix. I added vanilla and instead of water I added a mix of port and raspberry preserves. I also had to break a cocoa bar into pieces because of a lack of chips. It turnout Mmmm, although I keep thinking it would be better to have used devils food cake mix. I'd do it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This cake is AWESOME! I even used light sour cream and low sugar cake mix. Big hit with family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Very very good. I loved it while still hot. I didnt have enough choc chips for the topping so I just used regular choc icing. Almost too much chocolate but just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I’ve made this cake several times. It is very dense, rich and decadent. The only changes that I made is substitute half of the semi-sweet chocolate ships for dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kade
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was a funky texture, so unusual that I can't tell if I liked it. I love cake so i hate to say I didn't like it but it was very dense. I don't think I'll make it again. My picture is a photo of this cake. It looked great. Thanks for the recipe, It wasn't bad just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I never really had good chocolate cake before this recipe. Easy to make, so wonderfully sinfully delicious!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindy31

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Took this to a Christmas party last night to rave reviews. It's a quick and easy cake to put together. However, like another reviewer, I found that it did have that artificial boxed cake taste. But, I think it's because I've gotten used to making cakes from scratch (allergies) so I noticed it more. I did add 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp of cinnamon and liked the flavour that added. Served it with vanilla bean whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 323) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States