Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I've made this a few times now. I cut down to 3 eggs and cook a little longer than 6 hours in the slow cooker, it doesn't have the texture of cake -but it's not supposed to. More like pudding/cake. We love it under vanilla ice cream or the next day for breakfast. Hey - how much worse is it than a doughnut??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reb&Rob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
This cake has a bit of a wierd texture, but is awesomely sweet and sooooo moist. I have given out the recipe several times. It has been a huge hit at my house! I serve it as the base of a sundae with ice cream and a little chocolate syrup on top. Love it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELVISB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hospers, Iowa, USA
Living In: Maurice, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
I'm afraid that there is too much fluid in this recipie, as mine came out a very stange texture...not cake like at all. The flavor was very good, but the cake was heavy, wet and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
This cake was a bit too moist and was a odd texture. Good taste if you don't like sweet cake, however I would only use 1/2 the sour cream and 1 less egg if I made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I managed to burn mine to an unwholesome crisp. I thought that it was supposed to be dry like an oven baked cake, so I let it linger in the crock pot for an hour extra. Not a good idea. Charred chocolate really smells bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILDHARE21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
The flavor of this cake was good, but mine was too moist. Next time I will cut the sour cream in half or reduce the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was very easy and delicious. I made it in my crock pot, but keep a watchful eye over it as the time stated in the recipe would have resulted in burning. It was done in 4 hours. We loved the crock pot version because I set it to warm after the cooking was done and we had a warm chocolate cake for hours. Not a recipe for dieters. Lots of sour cream and eggs in this one. this a keeper and I see myself making this one a lot...I may even try to come up with a vanilla or red velvet version! ADDENDUM.....I tried a vanilla version...yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, same amount of eggs, sour cream, oil, and water. Still used the choc chips. DELISH!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsysix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I thought this was a good and easy recipe to have on hand when you need something in a pinch to take to a potluck. I baked it in a crockpot using the exact ingredients listed and baked it on low for 5.5 hours and it was perfect. I served it with ice-cream~~delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I love this recipe! It's great because you can make it early in the day and it's ready later for company. Once it appeared fairly set, just a little jiggle to it, I turned the crock pot to warm until I was ready to serve. Needs to be served with ice cream, IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ritzville, Washington, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I give this cake 5 stars for ease, but 3 1/2 stars for flavor, but I'm not a box mix fan. The sour cream and chocolate chips definitely help. When you need a quick no-fuss dessert that everyone likes, this is it. I always make it in the crock pot. It is supposed to have a moist pudding-y texture. Serve warm with ice cream, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States