Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I make this cake all the time - it's my "funeral cake". I use 1 cup sour sream - 1/2 cup oil. Then if you want to change things up a bit - use Chocolate mint chips - peanut butter chips - heath bar chips. I also make a chocolate frosting and add peppermint ext. or melt some peanut butter and mix into the chocolate frosting..... This cake is all sorts of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Several of our cooking forum members made this and it was quite interesting to see how varied they all turned out in the slow cooker. We all cooked it on low but not one our cakes were done at the same time. One members cake took six hours, another five, one was three and a half and was burned and I let mine cook for four hours and fifteen minutes and it was totally overdone. Wasn't too crazy about the texture either, but I'm sure had it been baked in the oven the results would have been much better. Will give this another try but in the oven this time. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
So good and way too easy. I cooked for 5 1/2 hours in the slow cooker on low. I think I over cooked it. It did not have any "pudding" to it. But it was wonderfully moist and dense. I used Duncan Hines Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix. Per the advice of another post, I only used 1 cup of sour cream. I used fat free sour cream and sugar free/fat free instant pudding. I don't recommend mini chips. They were too small and just kind of disappeared. I would have preferred little chunks of chococlate to bite into. I forgot to buy ice cream and I will never live it down. Everyone kept saying it needed ice cream. All I had was whipped topping. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I used a chocolate fudge cake mix instead of a milk chocolate one and this turned out perfect! Tasted like Applebee's molten cake without the runny center. Served it warm with ice cream. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I split this cake batter into two round pans instead, and after baking, layered them with cherry pie filling and whipped cream on top. Turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
The texture was weird and I did not care for the taste! Don't make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this in a crockpot and after about 3 hours it was starting to burn on the bottom. The recipe calls for 6 hours, so be careful about the timing of your crockpot. The cake was delicious and everyone enjoyed it, but in the future I will watch the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I made this cake the night before Easter, it all but overflowed the bunt pan, not only did that happen but when I took it out of the oven it sunk like a ship. I decided to try it again after church on Easter and this time I put some in the bunt pan and some in a loaf pan it came out fine but when I took it out of the oven again it sunk like a ship. I am done with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I made a few adjustments to this recipe and it turned out amazing! Use a white cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, and white chocolate chips in place of the chocolate ingredients. Top with a can of coconut icing. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T, using a bundt pan. This came out EXACTLY how a pudding cake should, ooey gooey in the middle, moist all over. I'm not sure why people were complaining about the texture, this is a PUDDING cake. Fabulous! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States