Chocolate Pudding Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I've made this cake for over 30 years, though I've never done it in the slow cooker. We call it the Chocolate OverDose (C.O.D.) cake. My favorite variation is to brew 2 bags of Bengal Spice tea (Celestial Seasons brand) into the water. Gives it a wonderful spicy/cinnamon flavor. I'm also going to try Raspberry Zinger and Mandarin Orange Spice flavors. I've tried mint chips, but it makes it too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Wonderful moist cake! Tried in the crock pot the second time as instructed...scorched the outside. Won't try that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious! All my friends and family who tried it loved it. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This cake would receive 5 stars if it weren't for the stirring. I only used 1 cup sour cream and 1/2 oil, but I did stir the cake every half hour for about 3 hours total baking time in the oval Crock Pot, and it was done then. It is absolutely delicious and everyone loved it. Definitely serve with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcarter71
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Made this tonight and it's wonderful! My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcarter71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jefferson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
SO GOOD! I changed it a little because of all the reviews. I used 1 package chocolate cake mix. 1 package pudding and 4 eggs just like the orginal recipe said to. BUT I only used 1 cup light sour cream, 1/2 cup water 1/2 cup oil and the whole 12oz bag of chocolate chips :) I also cooked it 3 hours in my oval crock pot and then left it on warm for 2 hours. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I only used 1/2 cup sour cream and added 1/2 cup 2% milk (I didn't realize I had so little sour cream). I kept everything else the same and cooked it in my oval slow cooker (Hamilton Beach) for 3 1/2 hours. I think next time I will follow another reviewers suggestion and stir it every so often because the sides baked much quicker than the center. I was looking to make a lava type cake and everyone said this was better than any restaurant's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have made this twice now and each time I make it this cake it caves in as soon as I take it out. Too much fluid I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was very easy and delicious. I made it in my crock pot, but keep a watchful eye over it as the time stated in the recipe would have resulted in burning. It was done in 4 hours. We loved the crock pot version because I set it to warm after the cooking was done and we had a warm chocolate cake for hours. Not a recipe for dieters. Lots of sour cream and eggs in this one. this a keeper and I see myself making this one a lot...I may even try to come up with a vanilla or red velvet version! ADDENDUM.....I tried a vanilla version...yellow cake mix, vanilla pudding mix, same amount of eggs, sour cream, oil, and water. Still used the choc chips. DELISH!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gypsysix

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States