Chocolate Pudding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
After reading the reviews from others I decided to alter the ingredients somewhat. I doubled the cocoa powder (I used Hersheys) I used water (no milk in frig!),increased the vanilla to 2t and increased the oil to 2.5 T. I used my micro instead of the oven. It turned out great--very chocolatey and sweet. Ladies, play with the recipe. It's not written in stone and you might be surprised!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
My partner and I whipped this up when we were craving a chocolatey treat one night, and we were very impressed at how easy it was to make. The fact that it is mixed together in the pan that it bakes makes cleanup a cinch. I reduced the flour slightly and and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa to the cake to give it a little more flavor, since several people felt it was bland. Because the cake is so basic, it leaves a lot of room for modifications to personal taste. Overall, we found it to be a simple, delicious recipe that took less than 15 minutes to prepare and made almost no mess. It tasted great warm or cold. Definitely will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EyesofStone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4xkids
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This is an extremely rich pudding cake. I doubled the recipe for a birthday celebration and everyone loved it. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and my family couldn't get enough. I read a review that suggested adding 1/3 cup cold butter cut up on the top just before adding the boiling water. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Childhood memories! I have this recipe, but looked it up to double check on the eggs. It been years since I've made it, but we had black walnut trees on our farm and Mom always added a cup of walnuts to the topping. Agree with LREYNAL to double the recipe! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
FAR too sweet and lacked chocolate flavour- and i used a very high quality cocoa! Weird texture, almost suet-like and the most prominent flavour was flour. VERY Disappointing! It was incredibly easy to make so that what's the one star was for. would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is basically the same recipe my great-grandmother used. It's chocolatey, old-timey, and it reminds me of happy childhood memories. A while ago I lost my copy of the recipe and went hunting online for it. I've tried versions of this that used chocolate chips, and I like that addition. (Use about 1/4 cup of semi-sweet, miniature, high end chips, and sprinkle on top before you pour the water). The only improvement to this recipe I can think of is to use vanilla bean paste instead of the extract (1:1), and use mixing bowls. One to make the cake batter, and a 2nd to mix the brown sugar and cocoa. Then, pour the cocoa/brown sugar on top, and then cover that with hot water. I tried preparing this as described here and it was a mess. I spilled flour and cocoa powder on my counter and floor because I barely had room in my baking dish to stir. When I transferred the dry cake ingredients to a mixing bowl, I found that the entire bottom of the pan was unblended flour. Now I understand all the negative "it tastes like flour" reviews. To properly blend the brown sugar and cocoa powder, use a proper mixing bowl and blend with a whisk or fork. When doubling, bake until you can see by poking it with a knife, that the cake is cooked. It takes me about 50 minutes to bake a doubled batch at sea level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
A quick add on when the kids decide to stop over and join you for dinner. Yummy. Easy.Crowd pleaser! Especially over vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I agree that this is quick and easy but I strongly disagree with the fact that it's either sweet or chocolate rich. I found it to be incredibly bland. I followed the recipe exactly and it looked right at every stage and the finished product looked like the picture. But the flavor was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This was pretty good. Needed a chocolate fix and this definitely helped! I loved the fact that it was easy and I had all the ingredients! Made the recipe exactly like it said except I used dark chocolate cocoa powder instead of regular. It's not too sweet, but it is a bit heavy. I will say if you'd prefer a sauce over pudding eat it right after the 15 minutes of letting it sit. The longer it sits the more "pudding like" it gets. Will definitely be making this one again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Great recipe, yummy!! After reading other comments, (since I'm a chocolate addict) I increased the brown sugar to 1 cup. Kept everything else the same and it was perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States