Chocolate Pretzel Rings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
I love the salty and sweet combination of pretzels and chocolate! I made a variation of this last year for a family reunion and got raves, along with tons of requests for the recipe. Following the same procedure, use tiny pretzel twists or the waffle shaped ones make a nice base, too. Instead of kisses, individual Rollos (chocolate covered caramels). On top, press in a toasted pecan half. Outstanding! Basically, they are Pretzel Turtles. Makes a nice hostess gift for holiday parties in a pretty holiday-themed tin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MG
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My girlfriend gave this recipe to me and it is one of my favorites! You can use the square pretzels too and they look just as pretty as the rings. I can only find the pretzel rings at our local grocery store, Meijer. I use white chocolate hugs and whichever holiday it is I'll use those M&M's for the top. I broil it -- keeping the oven door cracked and never taking my eyes off of them (about 20-30 seconds). Store in the fridge. Excellent! *Update* My oven takes 2 minutes for the white chocolate to melt on 275, and 4-5 minutes for the milk chocolate. I would test a couple out before making an entire batch (trust me). And don't mix white and milk chocolate together while baking-- bake each separately (I learned the hard way). In the end, my rings turned out perfect for this temp.! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Everyone loved them. NOTE: I tried 3 different types of kisses at the same time (peanut butter, hugs, and carmel). All had different warming temperature so do them separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Frito Lay's ROLD GOLD brand makes Holiday Rings (round pretzels) for anyone having a hard time finding round pretzels. If you are having trouble finding the round pretzels in your area, go to: http://www.fritolay.com/our-snacks/find-a-snack.htm Select ROLD GOLD, then Holiday Rings, then your zipcode and Frito Lay will give you stores carrying them within 50 miles! I have only ever been able to find them during the Thanksgiving/Christmas hholiday time. I just bought my first bags yesterday in MN. My M-I-L can't find them in the PHX area (and a search per above showed no stores carrying them in the PHX area), so I will be carefully taking a couple bags to her at Thanksgiving as they are a special hit among her friends. So make lots during the holidays and freeze them for all year long! They freeze great. Hope this helps! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I have made this in the past but I skip the M&M's. I just place the rings on sheet of parchment paper then when they come out I place another sheet over the top pressing lightly to fill the ring and slide all of it off the bake sheet to cool. Once it is cool just peel the top and bottom parchment free of the candy. Like others noted I have used ALL kinds of Kisses and they just use just a little different amount of time to melt so keep an eye on them. When I give them as gifts I fill up a jar with these and people LOVE them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Zilla

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
A great variation on this is using a rolo instead of the hershey's kiss. The addition of caramel makes it especially decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Easy peasy! I used minature pretzels (couldn't find the round ones) and a mixture of Hugs and Kisses. It was super easy and super tasty! My sister made them using the square pretzels and those worked great too. She used those white chocolate "discs" that you can buy, and they worked just as good. YUM! My only warning is that if you are using white and milk chocolate - be sure you don't put them on the same cookie sheet, because they definitely melt at different times! Learned that the hard way. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
The hit of the party! Kids and adults alike couldn't stop raving about these. Everyone was disappointed when they were all gone (which didn't take long!) I made the first batch with Hershey Kisses but felt the chocolate was overpowering -- the taste of the pretzel was lost. I had a huge bag of the milk chocolate disks (Merkens brand bought in bulk)and used these instead. They provided the right mix of chocolate and pretzel and looked so pretty! I baked each batch for two minutes and found that if I left them on the baking sheet for 30 seconds before pressing the M&Ms in, they came out perfect. I slipped each tray in the refrigerator until the next batch was ready, and they set up beautifully and could be stacked right away. I've already been asked by everyone at the party to bring them to the next function. I will be making these as XMas gifts for teachers and neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
This was a cute, fun and easy recipe. Like other reviewers, I used the Rolos. I found that the caramel was just a bit too much, so I cut the rolos in half and put them on top of the pretzels (caramel side facing up, unless you want a nasty, sticky mess). I topped mine with Reese's pieces. I think peanut m&m's would also be really good. Salty, sweet, chocolatey...what could be better?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
These are so cute and yummy! Great for sweet snacking! I did have to let them chill for a really long time before they got hard enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wharton, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States