Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I heeded other reviewers' warning about the dough being too dry and substituted the water for 4 teaspoons of buttermilk. My batter turned out perfect for use with a cookie press. The batch yielded 80 beautiful, delicious cookies. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I tried this recipe in hopes of finding something new to use with my spritz cookie press. I'm not sure if the orignial poster used their spritz press, but it did not work with mine. The dough was to stiff and dry. I even tried adding more milk and vanilla, and it still didn't work in the spritz press. On a positive note, I rolled the dough into small balls and used a cookie stamp. The cookies turned out pretty good that way. The taste reminded me of brownies...definately something the kids love as does my husband. I will make this cookie again, but would have to experiment with maybe less flour if using a spritz press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I give it four stars for potential. After reading all of the reviews I added a full teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg to compensate for the dryness that everyone spoke of. But found that it wasn't thick enough at all so added more flour! I finally decided that it wasn't the thickness that's the problem, but the stickiness. So I added a couple more tablespoons of margarine and it worked perfectly. I think that the recipe as it stands would work best if just more margarine/shortening was added. They pressed our perfectly for me after that and are delicious, like spritz brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These cookies definately are yummy but NOT a press cookie. I agree with the others that the dough is very dry. I, with great difficulty, rolled them out and cut with a cookie cutter. Baked for 10 minutes, came out crunchie and chewy. VERY chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
changed 2 tsp of milk to 2 tbl of milk and added an extra egg. The cookies went through my cookier press just fine. (mechanical not electric). They do taste like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I just got my first cookie press and wanted to try it out. I was a little wary of this recipe, but tried it and am glad I did! I added one egg and also extra milk, just enough to make the batter smooth. I also glazed them with some cookie icing (just powedered sugar and milk.) They were delicious and my husband loves them. Not bad for a first try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Adding an extra egg, and increasing the milk to 2 tablespoons and the vanilla to a full teaspoon made these cookies a cookie press dream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin for 5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ceresco, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I tried this with a cookies press and it didn't work. I think the dough was too thick. I took it out of the press and balled the dough and they tasted great!!! They needed to cook longer than 10 minutes. These are very good but shouldn't be used in the spritz press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I agree with the other bakers--recipe is too dry for cookie press. I added 2 more small eggs to the recipe, chilled dough for 1 hr. and used my cookie press and cookie stamps. Baking time varied with my gas oven. Good tasting cookie. From my experience, new recipes should be tried/tested before the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I give it three stars, because without some changes they don't work out. I followed the advice of previous posters. I used 2 eggs, 2 tablespoons of milk and a teaspoon of vanilla. They were spectacular! They really do taste like brownies. I would recommend trying this recipe BUT only with the changes previously mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States