Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
I tried this recipe in hopes of finding something new to use with my spritz cookie press. I'm not sure if the orignial poster used their spritz press, but it did not work with mine. The dough was to stiff and dry. I even tried adding more milk and vanilla, and it still didn't work in the spritz press. On a positive note, I rolled the dough into small balls and used a cookie stamp. The cookies turned out pretty good that way. The taste reminded me of brownies...definately something the kids love as does my husband. I will make this cookie again, but would have to experiment with maybe less flour if using a spritz press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
I tried this with a cookies press and it didn't work. I think the dough was too thick. I took it out of the press and balled the dough and they tasted great!!! They needed to cook longer than 10 minutes. These are very good but shouldn't be used in the spritz press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
These cookies definately are yummy but NOT a press cookie. I agree with the others that the dough is very dry. I, with great difficulty, rolled them out and cut with a cookie cutter. Baked for 10 minutes, came out crunchie and chewy. VERY chocolatey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I agree with the other bakers--recipe is too dry for cookie press. I added 2 more small eggs to the recipe, chilled dough for 1 hr. and used my cookie press and cookie stamps. Baking time varied with my gas oven. Good tasting cookie. From my experience, new recipes should be tried/tested before the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I agree with everyone else as well. The cookies are good but forget the cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I added more shortening and it was easier, but I don't think it was a very good press cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is not a cookie press recipe. My 3 year old wanted chocolate cookies from the cookie press and the dough was so thick I didn't even bother trying the press. I just made drop cookies instead. They were delicious, soft, and chewy. Tasted like brownies...Mmmmmmmmmm, but I had to give the recipe 3 stars because there was no way it would work in a cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I really wished I had read the other reviews before trying these. The recipe should be revised, moved to a different catagory, or removed. It is not a pressed cookie recipe. I added an additional egg to get it to work with my press, but not great for the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I give it four stars for potential. After reading all of the reviews I added a full teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg to compensate for the dryness that everyone spoke of. But found that it wasn't thick enough at all so added more flour! I finally decided that it wasn't the thickness that's the problem, but the stickiness. So I added a couple more tablespoons of margarine and it worked perfectly. I think that the recipe as it stands would work best if just more margarine/shortening was added. They pressed our perfectly for me after that and are delicious, like spritz brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
What a disaster! the dough wouldn't even come out of my cookie press, so I added a little more milk to make it softer and it still wouldn't come out. I put it in the fridge for 30 minutes and it finally came out but the cookies weren't very pretty or tasty at all. I would not make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States