Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
i agree w/everyone, it is not suitable for a cookie press. i was really disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cedar Grove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Newark, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I heeded other reviewers' warning about the dough being too dry and substituted the water for 4 teaspoons of buttermilk. My batter turned out perfect for use with a cookie press. The batch yielded 80 beautiful, delicious cookies. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Flavor wasn't bad. No luck with the press, I should have read the reviews. I made them as drop cookies, we got a ton of them. Maybe I will reduce the Coco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buford, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
What a disaster! the dough wouldn't even come out of my cookie press, so I added a little more milk to make it softer and it still wouldn't come out. I put it in the fridge for 30 minutes and it finally came out but the cookies weren't very pretty or tasty at all. I would not make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica B
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I give it four stars for potential. After reading all of the reviews I added a full teaspoon of vanilla and an extra egg to compensate for the dryness that everyone spoke of. But found that it wasn't thick enough at all so added more flour! I finally decided that it wasn't the thickness that's the problem, but the stickiness. So I added a couple more tablespoons of margarine and it worked perfectly. I think that the recipe as it stands would work best if just more margarine/shortening was added. They pressed our perfectly for me after that and are delicious, like spritz brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I really wished I had read the other reviews before trying these. The recipe should be revised, moved to a different catagory, or removed. It is not a pressed cookie recipe. I added an additional egg to get it to work with my press, but not great for the press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is not a cookie press recipe. My 3 year old wanted chocolate cookies from the cookie press and the dough was so thick I didn't even bother trying the press. I just made drop cookies instead. They were delicious, soft, and chewy. Tasted like brownies...Mmmmmmmmmm, but I had to give the recipe 3 stars because there was no way it would work in a cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I added more shortening and it was easier, but I don't think it was a very good press cookie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
I agree with everyone else as well. The cookies are good but forget the cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Combs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I agree with the other bakers--recipe is too dry for cookie press. I added 2 more small eggs to the recipe, chilled dough for 1 hr. and used my cookie press and cookie stamps. Baking time varied with my gas oven. Good tasting cookie. From my experience, new recipes should be tried/tested before the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States