Chocolate Press Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I'm not sure where I went wrong. The dough went though the press fine, but the cookies were hard. Taste wise, they were ok, but nothing I would consider making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Lackluster cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
No stars in my opinion. I followed the recipe exactly as stated, however, the cookie dough was dry and crumbly. It processed through the cookie press alright but the cookies when done baking were hard as rocks. I tried baking for less time, and they weren't good at all. I was disappointed to say the least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
4 stars because had to tweak the recipe. Used almost 1 cup (180g) of shortening, and 3-4 tbsp buttermilk. Very tasty and chocolaty. However, to prevent spreading next time, I will use indicated amount of shortening and just add the egg and buttermilk to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I loved these cookies i followed everyone else and added an extra egg, a full tsp. of Vanilla, and 2 tblsp. of milk. They came out like brownie cookies. I dont have a cookie press so I just rolled them into small balls and pressed them with the back of a spoon. Then after they came out I let them cool and I drizzled a vanilla glaze over them. Totally made them our favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
These looked right, but ended up as brown scorch marks on my baking sheets, despite trying two different batches on different kinds of baking sheets. Horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I tried the recipe and substituted the shortening with butter. I followed the rest of the recipes as is as I didn't red the comments first... I had no trouble with the cookie press other than the stencil kept popping out (but I beleive it is more link with cookie press issue than the recipes). The cookies are good but I was disappointed that they didn't keep there shape when baking. Event though I decreased the baking time, the cookies are way to crisp with no chewy area. I will try again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchfrog69

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
They tasted delicious, but didn't work in the press at all - as others have said. I tried adding milk, but just couldn't get the right consistency. Ended up making drop cookies. My son still loved them, but we made the recipe to use the cookie press, so were very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
dough was too dry so i refridgerated for about 5 mins then it worked better, but the finished product tasted almost like play dough. i am not sure why
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Even after adding an egg (2 total), increasing the milk to 2 tbsp, increasing the vanilla to 1 tsp, and adding an extra 2 tbsp of butter, the dough was too thick and sticky to make it through my press. I ended up rolling them into balls, pressing them down with the bottom of a glass, then dusting them with powdered sugar right out of the oven. (I used dutch process cocoa, though that shouldn't make a difference in this recipe.) Make these cookies - they're delicious - just don't try to put them through your cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States