Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I've made this cake 1/2 dozen times over the last 5 years and after some trial and error with the topping what I now do is after I get the brown sugar/butter/whipping cream/praline topping in the cake pan, I put the two cake pans in the freezer for 15 minutes. That way when the cake batter is added to the pans, the topping does not push to the sides of the cake pans. Works really well. As for other notes about the cake sticking in the pan after baking, I found that you really have to be diligent about getting the cakes out of the pans within that first 5 minutes. In one instance when I waited too long, I simply put the cake back into the warm oven for 3 minutes to "soften" up the topping. This cake is really terrific and is not one of those that you should worry about counting calories. Just simply enjoy it, then go for a long walk afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
The absolute BEST cake ever! Fun fact...this cake has a total of 7,128 calories of which 4,320 are fat calories. A serving size is 1/24 of the cake and is 297 calories. I would like to know who can cut a serving piece that tiny. A normal serving piece would be 1/12. The moral here is that life is too short so why not enjoy a big slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Actually a Pillsbury recipe. I have made many times for family gatherings and everyone always loves it. If you butter the cake pans well, let them cool for 5-10 minutes, flip them and firmly pat the bottom of the pans they will not stick. Also pull the pans up very slowly and evenly. If one side starts to stick just carefully use a knife to loosen it. I recommend making the day before serving because the flavors blend nicely overnight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this cake yesterday for my mother-in-law's surprise b-day party...it was an incredible hit with all the guests. She later came and pulled me aside to let me know that this cake might easily become one of her favourites - big compliment from her as she's a fantastic cook/baker. I will definately make this again! As for the caramel topping sticking to the bottom of the pan, I had lined the bottom of the cake pans with baking paper - the cakes came out quite easily and didn't stick to the bottom at all. I had also greased & floured just to be on the safe side :). Thanks again Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Wow,..... this has been the Birthday cake in our family since it won the pillsbury bake off..... a tip i use, when spooning the cake over the praline sauce, spoon first around the edge of the pan to seal, then fill in the middle, that way none of the delicious caramel will escape.... never put any wax paper or parchment on the bottom of the pans. If youwant you can substitute whipped topping for the real stuff, have done it both ways and the topping is actually less calories so you may have two peices....Yummmmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Awesome! I usually stick with the "safer" recipes on this site...the ones with many, many reviews, but I couldn't pass this one up. I'm glad I didn't! It is delicious! The topping didn't stick to my pans at all! Be sure you grease and flour your cake pans. Thirty-five minutes was perfect. My only problem was with my 2nd cake...the top layer completely fell apart. The icing made it slip off the bottom layer. I don't know how this problem could be fixed since the cake is SOOO moist. Anyway, the one that held together was absolutely perfect! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I made this cake for my boss's birthday and he LOVED it. I couldn't find devils food cake with pudding, so I used Duncan Hines moist devils food cake. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2001
I think the next time I bake it, I will use cream cheese frosting instead of whipped topping. It just seems to need a little more flavor to me. i think this is actually a Pillsbury bake-off winner recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINELIZ821

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
TIP To get the residual praline out of the bottom of the cake pan. After flipping pan over, place a damp rag on top and iron the damp rag on high setting for about 30 seconds, essentially steaming or heating the bottom of the pan so the praline falls right out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by realgapeach77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Verrrry tasty. However, after using shortening and parchment paper in the pans, the carmel/pecan topping still tore off of the cake, was immovable in the pan bottoms, and also took some chunks of cake with it. I think waiting only 5 mintues to take them out of the pans was part of the problem. If (big if) I ever make this cake again, I'll omit the paper, I'll grease and flour the pans within inches of their lives, and wait til the cake is cooler, more set, before trying to remove. 4 stars because I could fix it by making more topping, drizzling that on the cakes and the whipped cream covers any and all imperfections in the cake itself. Got rave reviews for Christmas dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States