Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this cake yesterday for my mother-in-law's surprise b-day party...it was an incredible hit with all the guests. She later came and pulled me aside to let me know that this cake might easily become one of her favourites - big compliment from her as she's a fantastic cook/baker. I will definately make this again! As for the caramel topping sticking to the bottom of the pan, I had lined the bottom of the cake pans with baking paper - the cakes came out quite easily and didn't stick to the bottom at all. I had also greased & floured just to be on the safe side :). Thanks again Eleanor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I doubled this recipe and made a 2 layer lasagna pan cake. I lined the bottom of the pan with a silicon baking sheet and had no problems with sticking. I only put the pecans on the bottom half, I did feel I needed a bit more filling so I used the pecan filling from the The Old Fashion Red Devils Food Cake recipe on this site. I frosted it with canned butter cream icing because I wanted to top it with a cake topper that I printed on edible paper with edible ink. (You can't use dairy frosting with the cake topper) I got rave reviews on the cake and a friend said it was the best cake she ever ate. I was very pleased and will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Delicious! Such a hit amongst my coworkers. Only one problem...it was very difficult to keep the glaze even on the bottom of the pan. It was pushed to the side when the batter was placed on top, leaving some parts of the cake with no glaze and some parts with a ton of glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Awesome! I usually stick with the "safer" recipes on this site...the ones with many, many reviews, but I couldn't pass this one up. I'm glad I didn't! It is delicious! The topping didn't stick to my pans at all! Be sure you grease and flour your cake pans. Thirty-five minutes was perfect. My only problem was with my 2nd cake...the top layer completely fell apart. The icing made it slip off the bottom layer. I don't know how this problem could be fixed since the cake is SOOO moist. Anyway, the one that held together was absolutely perfect! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Wonderful recipe. Cashew nuts were replaced for pecan. I made this for my friend on her birthday and she nearly had no chance to have it if I didnt specially keep a piece for her, cause the whole cake was gone in minutes. Also brought it to company and all raved for it. Thank you for a keeper, Eleanor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Everyone I've served this to has said "this is the best cake I've ever tasted" - and I'd have to agree - very easy and SO delicious! The whipped cream is just sweet enough to compliment and praline layer, but not too sweet. I've made it twice now and has turned out perfect both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
Cake tasted good when frosted with dark chocolate frosting. It was next to impossible to remove cake and topping from the pans since the topping stuck horribly. I don't know how everyone else did it without trouble. I would not make this again for this reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Made this for Thanksgiving and it received wonderful "reviews". Brought left overs to the office where it again was given a perfect 10!One correction this does not serve 24! It was 12 small slices but all agreed that it was rich and filling so small slices are the way to go! Easy to make and loved that I had this made 2 days before leaving me time for the rest of my cooking. Very easy. Do wish that all recipes would include a photo of the completed item!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I made this cake for my boss's birthday and he LOVED it. I couldn't find devils food cake with pudding, so I used Duncan Hines moist devils food cake. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Great cake, you won't be sorry you took the time to make this one. Next time am going to use a cream cheese icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States