Chocolate Praline Layer Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is a beautiful cake. I've made it twice and it's been a hit both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeannine1976

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was a great recipe! However, I made two changes...I used milk instead water, and I used cream cheese icing instead of the whipped icing. I was nervous about making this cake for the first time for Thanksgiving, but it came out great, and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I have been making this cake for a number of years. I made it for someone's b-day at work and now everyone requests it. I always make it for our school's annual cake auction and it always brings in over $100.00. Everyone just loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
My family loves this. 5++ stars. I did not have pecans, used walnuts. I am sure it will be 10+ with pecans. Very easy to make. Grease and flour the pans to prevernt sticking and shake the cakes out easily from pan, take your time, excellent!!!!second review: you MUST remove the cakes from the pans in five minutes, no more no less or they will stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine R.
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This is my favorite easy-to-make cake. I've made this about a dozen times and it always gets rave reviews. This recipe was the first prize winner in a Rhode Island Pillsbury bake off contest ages ago, and that's when I first tried it. It doesn't sit in your stomach like lead afterwards like some heavily frosted cakes tend to do. This tastes almost like a candy cake with that beautiful chewy-crisp caramelly center balanced with the lightness of the whipped cream. Absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine R.
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MORUPE
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
The absolute BEST cake ever! Fun fact...this cake has a total of 7,128 calories of which 4,320 are fat calories. A serving size is 1/24 of the cake and is 297 calories. I would like to know who can cut a serving piece that tiny. A normal serving piece would be 1/12. The moral here is that life is too short so why not enjoy a big slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MORUPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Actually a Pillsbury recipe. I have made many times for family gatherings and everyone always loves it. If you butter the cake pans well, let them cool for 5-10 minutes, flip them and firmly pat the bottom of the pans they will not stick. Also pull the pans up very slowly and evenly. If one side starts to stick just carefully use a knife to loosen it. I recommend making the day before serving because the flavors blend nicely overnight. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Verrrry tasty. However, after using shortening and parchment paper in the pans, the carmel/pecan topping still tore off of the cake, was immovable in the pan bottoms, and also took some chunks of cake with it. I think waiting only 5 mintues to take them out of the pans was part of the problem. If (big if) I ever make this cake again, I'll omit the paper, I'll grease and flour the pans within inches of their lives, and wait til the cake is cooler, more set, before trying to remove. 4 stars because I could fix it by making more topping, drizzling that on the cakes and the whipped cream covers any and all imperfections in the cake itself. Got rave reviews for Christmas dessert...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mxmarg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I had trouble with the bottom sticking despite my best efforts. It was still pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
Fantastic cake! So moist and rich, but has a nice light feeling to it with the whipped cream frosting. A new favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States